Getting my mind blown at a the professional optician office.

in #life6 years ago

My eyes have been bugging me for a while now.

Throughout the day they start to sting more and more.

I also felt that my vision was more getting more blurred.

So today I decided to go see a 'real' optician and not one you find in a generic store for glasses.


Snapseed 9.jpg


I made an appointment for 13:00 in Rotterdam.

I entered the office/store and it was completely empty.

I walked to the counter where I was greeted by a nice lady of around 50.

We exchanged greetings and I explained what the problem was.

She sat me down on a chair with all kinds of bells and whistles attached to it and then proceeded to take measurements of my current glasses.

When she came back she started here measurements where I had to to look through a huge device with interchangeable lenses.

I have done this before in a generic store but her tests where completely different.

I had to read letters on the wall but also look at different colours (green/red) and a circle with lines on them all the while she was changing lenses and I had to say if things looked sharper or not.

It took a long time.

By the end of all this I got the result.

And she said the on thing I did not expect.


She said, you have much better vision then most people!

You just have the wrong lenses!


I nearly fell of my chair!

She explained that some people have more light receptors on the back of the eye and can see more detail.

The baseline is 100%, I have 150%.

I said, but I need glasses to see!

She said, well that doesn't matter. Some don't need glasses and they only have 80%.

Your eyes are fine but your lenses are completely wrong!

She said, both your lenses are off by a quarter but worse you axle is wrong by 30%! (I have no idea...even after she explained it what that means).

Wow! I did not expect any of this.

She promised me that by next week I will have eagle vision with new lenses.

I hope this is all true because I can barely believe it.



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

that could be actually true, I have a friend that had the same problem, I thought she would say no glasses at all. well, we kinda like you with glasses

Aha!
So no headaches because of the crashing crypto markets, but because of the wrong lenses!

Hello friend I'm happy for you that now your vision is back right. Do you think if she told you that you had to do a laser operation? This happened to me, but now I see well but with glasses, but only to read.

My goodness, so you were wearing the wrong lenses, I guess it's a better result, the thing is I was expecting the worse reading about your eyes, but it's always glad to see it was a relief, so how's your vision now?

The same, lenses will be ready next week and will be placed in my current frame.

Very nice of you yo share your personal experience with your optician with us. All the best with the new vision glasses.

Good - no surgery required! New lenses will help until you drink excessive beers or play late night video games. Such habits will change with age or children. Be happy!

Yeah I was happy with that as well! Surgery scared me a bit.

Thanks for sharing your story, don't forget to tell us what will happen with you in the next week.

Will do! Can't wait myself.

Can't you donate those extra 50%? ^^ I sure need at least half as that! haha

That's the reason why we should take the pain and visit the right Medical Center anytime we need medical assistance.

Thank God for your eyes, and for the optician. Your eagle eye on the way... Smile

She said, you have much better vision then most people!
You just have the wrong lenses!

That must had been shock. All this time with wrong lenses. I can imagine your reaction once you get new lenses.

I have no clue what to expect. I can't wait!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05