Flying a drone is so much fun!

in #life8 years ago

I had a great day last Friday. A friend of mine recently bought a drone and not just any drone. He bought the DJI Mavic Pro. This thing cost more than one thousand euros! Defiantly not your everyday drone. He asked if I wanted to go fly it with him. Of course, I said yes!


drone

It looks so bad ass! The Max distance you can still control it from is 7 Kilometers (4.4 miles) and it has a 4K camera.


folded
The drone folds together so beautifully that it almost fits in your coat pocket. It's a perfect piece of engineering. It weights around 750 gram.


drone
Underneath the controller you can click a smartphone or a small tablet. In this case an Ipad mini.


drone
And liftoff. Max allowed altitude in the Netherlands for drones is 120mtrs.


We drove for a long time finding a place to fly. The weather was beautiful last Friday. We settled on two locations.

Flying the drone is very easy. When it's close you can do it by looking at it. It's always stable by itself and it can detect obstacles. Moving it up and down and back and forth and sideways is so much fun already. But when you really take it for a spin you need to rely on the tablet/camera to know where it is because you simply can't see it in the sky after a while.

I got so lost in time flying this machine that I literary forgot about everything. It was just like playing with a toy when I was a kid. Just have fun and live in the moment. It's been a while since I felt like that.

Here's the video my friend made. It's a bit long (12 minutes). I found it pretty relaxing but I can imagine it's too long.

So if you want to see yours truly skip to 2:00. You get a smile and a wave. And at 6:30 you can see the Krimpenerwaard from the sky. It's an area 5 minutes from my house. It's simply beautiful and shows Holland in a way you normally don't see. It also shows how high the drone can go. Fun fact: The land in the video is 3 to 4 meters below sea level. Without Dutch engineering, all this land would be water.

Enjoy.


signature Follow Me @exyle

Sort:  

Nice! Even if it is a lot of money to buy, it looks really cool! Good story, thanks for sharing!

The drone is amazing! It was a lot of fun flying it. I doubt I'll ever buy one though...expensive!

Wow, you get some great shots like this!
(I did click through it, as it is indeed a bit long)

Lots of straight lines and open space! I have to admit, I'm glad we have a bit more variation here, further north :-)

Thank you! Yeah, I expected it to be a bit too long to watch completely. The north of Holland is stunning as well. I come there now and again.

Is it very difficult to fly?

No, it's surprisingly easy! It even lifts off and lands by itself.

Good to know. Really cool :-) Thank you.

Wow, it can get so high. You would be able to get some terrific sunset footage I bet.

Yeah, I would think so. It's so much more versatile than a handheld camera.

Hey bro!

Man, that looks so much fun! And it went so high! Really glad to see you in that video too, looks like you're having so much fun.

I'm sure you're looking to invest in one for yourself now! :)

Man it was sooo much fun! I would like to invest in one tbh....I'll think about it :)

It looks like a lot of fun indeed !

That one looks top of the line!!

Thank you very much. Shame on me I never use twitter. Is this the link? https://twitter.com/steemit ?

Nice picture quality, is this recorded in slow motion? I have a really cheap drone that I like playing with too. They are lots of fun. It doesn't go near as high or make as nice a video though. It is very hard to control in any kind of wind too.

Yeah it was recorded in slow motion indeed! I also love the picture quality. Really amazing
from such a tiny camera. This drone had all the bells and whistles including stabilisation and 'heavy' wind warnings...crazy really. I would feel less comfortable without those. But man drones are fun in general aren't they :D

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.65 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50