Financial Freedom is not about buying stuff. It's about gaining time.

in #life7 years ago

Almost everyday I wake up around 7 am.

I get up, I make a can of coffee and crawl behind my pc to stabilise.

My workday starts around 9 (I'm self employed) but I like to relax in the morning checking Steemit and the latest crypto news and that's why I get up earlier than I have too.

It's also the time where everything is still quiet.

This always works fine for me unless on the days were I actually have to get up at 7 am because of a business appointment that could not be planned later.

Whenever I set my alarm because I need to get up early I experience the most amazing blissful sleep that night.

Always rudely awakened by the irritating alarm bells coming from my iPhone.

It's always those days where I could potentially sleep till 9 am :)

I don't why this is.


IMG_5596.jpg


Being self employed has its plusses. Being able to manage your own time is by far my favourite one.

I'm always reminded of this when I have to leave my house in the early morning like today.

I was on my way to Rotterdam and instantly hit traffic. (Something I normally avoid by just planning around it.)

The reason for this is of course simple.

Me and a million other people are trying to reach our work at the exact same time causing massive congestion.

When looking around at the people in the cars I often notice acceptance.

I guess it's a common day occurrence for most people and they have gotten used to it.

And later today they will have to go through the same thing on there way to home.

Such a shame.

Waiting (or losing time) is one of the biggest waste I can think off.

For me this is actually one of the biggest reasons to chase financial freedom.

It's not about being able to buy stuff it's about gaining extra time and the freedom to spend it.

I'm not sure if this makes sense to everyone.

But it does for me.


Sort:  

OMG, this is EXACTLY what I try to explain to my friends/family/relatives.
Sorry that you don't speak french, I am writting a blog for severals years now about financial freedom (and not buying stuff :D) / not to act like a sheep (everyone in the car stuck in the traffic jam in the morning).
Thanks you so much for this kind of such great post. I really enjoyed also speak with Bianca about not buying stuff and having liberty instead. Stop buying, start living.
If we reduce our needs also, we will have more time (less cleaning / less tidying / etc)
See you my dear @exyle !

Most of us lose a lot of precious time comuting to work. It's a real shame that we end up spending years of our lives in traffic. Maybe steem will be the answer for the people reading this :)

I hope so.

This is absolutely true! Having free time to dedicate to your passions is the real freedom, buying stuff is just a whim

It makes a lot of sense and when you work for yourself you actually tend to work hard. Time is the most important thing in life when used precisely.

You are a genius family your mother @clio your better half Bianca every one are legendary status. Yes we also need freedom of time, specialy the morning sleepy melodious. But compel to start for the day very boring. But have to hang out for the responsibility. Thanks for sharing such a great post. Good luck to you and your princess.

You are absolutely right. Time is your #1 asset. You can replace almost everything else but time.

well said..you will NEVER get your time back. Spend it wisely.

I lived in Seattle and the traffic was rough. Eventually they let people pay to use the carpool lane to save time. I thought it was ridiculous how much they would charge, but there were times that it was worth paying to avoid sitting in traffic for an extra 15 minutes.

I understand that. In traffic time slows down and 15 minutes feels like an hour.

well said @exyle, i agreed with your words, you really do a great efforts and now you taking a reward of that. exactly most of time you should engaged. time never wait for anyone. i appreciate your effforts. good luck.
UpVote
Steem On...!

Also self employed and have been most my adult life. Honestly the times I had a "job" were completely soul sucking and left me hating life in general. Have a real hard time working for people who know less then me yet feel they should tell me how to do what I am skilled at.

Only had 1 job that nobody told me how to due what needed to be done and that wasn't to bad. But I was so good at it a client stole me away with a pretty nice offer. Was to young at the time to realize that money wasn't everything when it came to work.

I only worked for a boss once. For 1 year. It was a good lesson in what I didn't want to do with my life. Still took me another 10 years after that to see the light and start working hard on improving my situation.

It's not something everyone can do and those that can succeed at being self employed need to be very driven. Find it tends to say a lot about a person if they can make it work.

You are so right!!! I have that same freedom now, and it's wonderful!

Hi ma'am you are a genius mother of a very wonderful and blessed child. Thanks.

You should enjoy it as much as you can!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45