Confidence is everything- How I gained mine [part 1]

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I was going through my old pictures today and I realized something.

When I look at the old me in the pictures I see a nice looking guy but back then I saw none of that.

If they ever invent time travel I would like to go back and tell him that. But I'm also pretty sure that it would not matter one bit.

Nothing could have convinced me back then.

Having no confidence means you keep your world small. It's what I did.

Going to school (and later work), play video games and don't go out.

I wasn't unhappy or anything but I do feel (now) that I missed valuable time.

I'm trying to make that up that time in my thirties.

I somehow have this hope that if someone reads this they might think....fuck it I can do that too.

2012 (age 27)


What made me change was a moment in 2012. I was sitting behind my computer when I felt weird. I was getting dizzy. The doctor came and my blood pressure was down in the forties. Heartbeat low.

They send me to the hospital for further tests. I had to stay overnight while they measured my heart. It was that night I decided to change if I got the chance.

They never found the cause for what happened the day before and send me home. But I had changed my mindset. I was going to become healthy.


This picture is taken around that time. Don't I look different :)


2012-07-22 13.41.41.jpg


I decided to stop smoking straight away. I smoked around 20-30 cigarettes a day. It was shit. 3 months into stopping I still craved smokes. I decided to start exercising. I could do not 1 push up back then. I started doing this program I found called P90x. 7 days a week. This is me about a 2 weeks into the program.


2012-08-05 13.53.17.jpg


3 months in. First round complete. Total dedication. I started to eat more.


2012-12-10 18.15.52.jpg


8 months in, I added weight training here. I bought them. No way would you find me in a gym.


2013-05-08 14.50.39.jpg



1 year in.


2013-09-09 10.29.37.jpg


2014


2014-03-24 17.35.36.jpg


When I look at these pictures now compared to the fluffy belly (lol!) I have now, I think, man you look good there!

The difference is the 33-year-old me is confident as hell and the guy in the pictures is not. Even with all that work!

But I had made a good start for myself and everything was about to change.

This body would lead me to a mud run in England and from there to meeting Bianca in the most unexpected way.....

[end of part 1...]


signature Follow Me @exyle


Bitcoin SwC Poker, download and use affiliate code: Blazin8888

Sort:  

I guess you must think that what you have is what others crave so you should cherish your current state, be confident and be happy with what you have. I'm glad to see you could change for the better and stop smoking cigarettes and turn your health around for the better. Great Job bud and it seems like that mentality lives on today with Steemfat.

You looked good back then and you still look good now. You are just following the same path of your father and many others as they grow old and start to form that belly haha

However, it seems like you are planning to take a detour and form your own path. A path which you are happy with and which you strive towards with your new found confidence and glee.

Keep up the great work @exyle :)
I can't wait for part 2!

Thanks as always for your great replies!

We all said the past is the past. But by looking back help us shape or dictate our present and most likely our future.
Keep on steemit @exyle

Thanks, wise words!

Wow! That is great! One needs to believe in himself and the ability to carry out positive things lies in the conviction of the individual. There is no limit to what we can achieve if we BELIEVE!

Great story brother and incredibly inspiring. I agree that all things begin with belief in yourself. When we focus our mind, body and soul to a thing the universe parts like the Red Sea and bends to our will. I think it was Shaw that said, "People who say something can't be done need to get out of the way of the people doing it". Great post man!!

You definitely look way more confident now. Congrats on being able to quit smoking cold turkey or immediately. I'm looking forward to reading part 2.

Amazing body transformation... very inspiring, glad you stopped smoking which may lead to various health issues. No matter how you look confidence makes you strong & beautiful...

nice story, can't wait for the next chapter, cheers

thank you.

Great story man i like post like this

Bahahaha, I'm sorry but you look so different without your beard and glasses in the first picture. I didn't even realize you posted when I saw this post in my feed. Congrats on successfully quitting smoking and consistently exercising. The P90x program does require some equipment like weights and pull up bars, you can check out Athlean-Xero, a program that does not require any equipment at all.

lol, I do look different! :). I don;t use P90x anymore. But I do have all that equipment still.

Great inspiration and great post. Goes to show when you want to do something in life, you can when you set your mind to it. Thanks for sharing, have a great day🌞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50