Christmas with our Brazilian friends! Fantastic food and Prime Rib from the Green Egg.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Last night we had a Christmas dinner with our Brazilian friends.

It was my first real Brazilian Christmas and it was great!

They do some things different though.

At midnight they get up like it's the new year and start to congratulate everyone with Feliz Natal! (Merry Christmas).

At first, I didn't even understand what was happening. But I soon joined in, why not!

Also, the dinner is different. Instead of serving different courses, it's one big feast all served at once.

I was in charge of slow roasting two types of meat (out of 4 served).

A big piece of pork and the star of the show Prime Rib!

I fired up the grill at around 12:00.


IMG_8358.jpg


The pork took the longest so that went on straight away once I had the Green egg stable at 110C. This is after 3 hours.


IMG_0008.jpg


This is the Prime Rib. A beautiful piece of meat. Bianca marinated it in garlic and salt.


IMG_0004.jpg


I Added it to the grill at around 15:00. It stayed there till the internal temperature was 60 degrees.


IMG_0010.jpg


I took about 3,5 hours to roast. When I cut it open it was like heaven! The fat inside the meat slowly renders down and releases flavor to every part of it.


IMG_8388.jpg


To supplement the meat Bianca made some potato salad, roasted eggplants, rice and a salad. The roasted pork is also in the pictures.


IMG_8390.jpg


My Christmas Eve dinner. I liked it a lot!


IMG_8392.jpg


The rest of the evening consisted of having nice drinks and talking with each other but I'm getting older.....


You know when you have a group of friends there is always that one person that's the oldest.

That person is now me.

The youngest in the group is 22.

I can't compete with that energy.

At 1:00 I just couldn't keep my eyes open anymore so I told everyone good night and went to bed :)

I had a great night!


IMG_8420.jpg


I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

looks like it was perfect!

Enjoying the Holidays with family and friends. Pretty Cool.

Enjoy the season.Merry Christmas

Time catches up in all of us man. The meat looks f-in awesome ! Dinner & Drinks with friends. always great.

Time catches up in all of us man.

I guess I'll have to get used to it :)

super super super) meat is just wonderful!Merry Christmas to @exyle and Brazilian friends!;)

merry-christmas-holiday-hd-wallpaper-1920x1080-387.jpg

Merry Christmas @exyle ! Have fun and enjoy the delicious food.

Merry Christmas!

@exyle Merry Christmas to you and ALL of your Family !!! Looking Forward to a 2018 of Crypto FREEDOM.

Wow!!, It nice seeing you having fun with your friends and even seeing the fantastic food you prepared, It really looking yummy.
Merry Christmas @exyle, and my regards to Bianca.

A Brazilian Christmas, brilliant! We had a Chinese buffet yesterday and it was amazing to say the least. My plan is to explore a different culture every year. I'm already looking forward to the next Christmas!

Mark, I was waiting to see this dish! This looks so tender as result from good preparation.
You would have had a wonderful evening with joy and fun. Friends did make the eve complete,.... And just be happy you will be older :-)

I see you managed to take some photos of the green egg roasting meat after all :) Enjoy your holidays and Merry Christmas!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48