Bulk shopping is great and saves money.

in #life7 years ago

Yesterday I went bulk shopping. It’s a perfect way to save money by spending loads in one go.


me


Every time I go to a supermarket and fill my little basket with not that many products it’s 30 euro or more. It just seems to get more expensive every year so to safe money I started bulk shopping.

Bulk shopping works fine for meat and things that last a long time.

Shopping in pictures

Wine

Three of these boxes are for a friend of mine. All these wines were on a big discount. I paid under €6 a bottle for the wine I bought. And this is delicious stuff. Average price (according to the Vivino app I use) almost €13 per bottle.

€7 euro saved per bottle. That's great.

IMG_4085.JPG

IMG_4084.PNG
This is the Vivino app, it's great to quickly check some reviews about a wine


Coffee

I drink a lot of coffee. I saved €1,50 per package buying this on discount. That's €27 saved by buying bulk.

IMG_4114.JPG


Meat

Both these pieces were around €8 to €9 euro per kilo. Wich is cheap for good quality meat in the Netherlands.

IMG_4087.JPG

IMG_4088.JPG


Preparing the meat

It's a little bit more work preparing everything. You need to cut your own steaks and put them in little bags to freeze.

IMG_4092.JPG

I couldn't help myself. I had to try a piece. It was great.

IMG_4094.JPG

IMG_4104.JPG


The under rib I cut into chunks and put in several freezer bags. Great meat to prepare in the pressure cooker or for a stew.

IMG_4113.JPG

IMG_4112.JPG


The only problem with buying bulk is that you need to have the money to do the initial investment. I spend around €300 euro on all the produce (my friend's wine not included) and that's way more than a €30 basket.

But the way I look at it is simple. For the next months, I don't have to buy coffee in the supermarket. I don't have to buy meat. I don't have to buy wine and some other that stuff we bought.

The money I spend monthly on grocery shopping will go down for the next months plus I now have access to high-quality products!

Saving money and have access to high-quality products!

My Dutch saving heart is radiating with joy :)


signature Follow Me @exyle

Sort:  

That is how I shop too. I don't have a car but I have a Chritiania-bike.

It's a good way to shop and safe some money. O and btw. That is one cool looking and functional bike!

It is a great bike. I think the first prototype was made in the seventies and there are thousands of them in Copenhagen alone, so they have had time for improving the (rather simple) design!

I've been using Amazon Pantry - You get 15% off if you sign up for automatic renewal for 4 (or was it 5 items). I get my Monster energy drinks in the large cases as one item. Bulk wine is a great idea... though, in my case I know I would just drink more because its around ultimately not saving money haha.

lol @ bulk wine drinking :) I guess that is a downside to this way of shopping!

What I like about these types of blog posts with photos... is that I feel I was standing in your kitchen with you. Very personable, and different than the normal things "news sites" write..

Was fun!

Man, that's so cool of you to say! Thanks! You put a smile on my face :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52