A simple but nice dish: Pasta, Pesto, Chicken.

in #life7 years ago

I wanted to make this meal yesterday. But Bianca had other plans.

She wanted to make a Brazilian meal and nothing was going to stop her.

I was cook blocked and banned from the kitchen.

It was fine with me. I snuck in a sneaky 40 minute of Tex Murphy (an old adventure game I'm replaying).

But to be honest, it's great that she likes cooking like I do.

After cooking almost every day at home for a decade myself, it's really nice to just sit down and have a meal that's just ready.

For me, food that is served to you often tastes better than whatever you can make yourself. I don't why this is.

But today she's out for her Dutch course so I had free reign!

Pasta, Pesto, Chicken it is!

It's a very simple dish and something I used to make often when I learned to cook.

My dad was here too.


IMG_4067.jpg


Ingredients, cherry tomatoes, red and green pepper, pasta, green onions, onions, garlic, cheese, a jar of pesto and frozen chicken (that I forgot to get from the freezer in the morning).


IMG_4053.jpg


Microwave is awesome for defrosting chicken breasts. 300W for 7-8 minutes and it's perfect.


IMG_4055.jpg


8 minutes is plenty of prep time for the other ingredients. Fry the bacon and slice all the vegetables.


IMG_4059.jpg

IMG_4058.jpg


I sliced the chicken into little pieces and decided to use the fat from the bacon to fry them in. I just wanted them just cooked. I'm not looking for golden brown. I then added the garlic and onions.


IMG_4060.jpg

IMG_4061.jpg

IMG_4068.jpg

IMG_4070.jpg


And then the rest of the ingredients. It's not rocket science this meal tbh. But it is tasty. First the peppers.


IMG_4071.jpg


Then the pesto from the jar. Pesto from the jar is fine if you buy decent quality. I tried to make it myself in the past, but it's a lot of work/ingredients. This is easier.


IMG_4074.jpg

IMG_4076.jpg


I cooked the pasta in water. Bianca bought this brown variant which should be healthier but I prefer normal pasta.


IMG_4072.jpg


Put the pasta in the other pan with the ingredients and added the cherry tomatoes and bacon.


IMG_4080.jpg


End Result. Again, not rocket science but a good simple dish. My dad loved it too(we ate it plenty of time in the past).


IMG_4084.jpg


Exyle logo final _ RGB-04.png


Bitcoin SwC Poker, download and use affiliate code: Blazin8888

Sort:  

I literally laughed out loud when I read "Cook blocked". :) That's hysterical and you've been honored with the phrase of the day, lol. Priceless!

The meal looks incredible. A dish that will take your taste buds on an exciting little ride. I really love meals like this b/c if there's any leftovers, it makes for a great lunch the following day.

Love the fresh veggies that you always use. We bought these frozen sliced veggie packets a while back with onion, peppers, mushrooms in an assortment of spices. As soon as they're gone, I'm going back to fresh veggies, there's simply no comparison to the taste and it adds to the enjoyment of cooking by doing it yourself.

Great meal man and incredible post you made this morning. It's got me walking on sunshine man. You, Bianca and your Dad have a great night!

I always enjoy watching your videos @exyle . Nice to see you show off your cooking skill too!

Thank you!

If you have fresh basil in your house its worth it to make your own pesto for that fresh taste. All you need is basil, olive oil, and garlic and then throw it in a food processor. You can jar it and store it for later.

Fresh Basil is relatively expensive in the Netherlands I find. How long will it stay ok when stored?

My parents usually jar it up at the end of the season around October-November and it stays good until Easter. I'd say if you jar it properly (air tight) it will last you up to 6 months.

@exyle - Dude - that looks 'Chef grade'. I can sense that you really enjoy cooking. Respects Sir!! I have to pay my respects because all I can 'cook' is Cuppa noodles or 2-minute noodles. LOL

Thanks for sharing. Upvoted.

By the way- I have been permanently banished from kitchen for breaking one of my wife's favorite glass sets! I sneak my 40 minutes in posting wildlife blogs with a twist, on Steemit. I request you to take a look if you need to smile. :)

Regards,

@vm2904

@exyle That Looks Frickin' Awesome and I bet it Taste Good Too.............

You should make a tour to other steemit users and cook for them in their kitchen and post an article about it.

lol! I wouldn't mind actually. Sounds like it could be fun.

wow fantastic post @exyle, it's nice to see you again cooking some healthy food at home in the presence of your dad and that dish Pasta, Pesto, Chicken named simple but it looks yummy and delicious, i hope it also tastes great, the special thing which i love about this dish is the use of vegetable, vegetable really enhance the color and taste of any dish and they are full of vitamins which is essential for good health, the end result of the dish is fantastic, have a fantastic week ahead my friend and thanks for sharing

Thank you, man!

I enjoy meals that are already prepared as well. Probably has an emotional component to it, being used to being served "custom" meals when I was a child because I was very picky.

Yeah maybe I can taste the love :)

Aaaand you're a cook too. :|

Haha absolutely. I was just surprised. I can't even fry an egg properly. I'm good at tea though. Will serve you when you come to Pakistan \m/

While the woman's in the kitchen, the man's playing and gaming hehe.. food looks great man! Ive always wanted to learn to cook food but i never took the initiative to do it. I should start finding the time to learn how to cook. Thanks for sharing this post with us bro!

It all comes down to a few basic skills. You don't have to become a real chef. But being able to prepare normal food well, will serve you well for a lifetime.

you're absolutely right @exyle! thanks for the wise words bro! i look forward to your future post! especially food blogs like this! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64