A promise let me to the doctors office...

in #life6 years ago

IMG_9282.jpg


As a man I sometimes say 'yes' to things Bianca asks and then promptly forget about it.

But the promise always comes calling at some point in time.

And so it was this morning.

I was nudged awake by Bianca to get ready to go to the doctor.

I was manfused instantly.

I couldn't remember anything about a doctor.

As it turns out 3 months ago I said 'yes' to a full checkup at a doctors office in Brasil.

It's a dream of Bianca that this would happen because she wants to know if I'm healthy.

In the Netherlands it's not normal to have checkups.

I basically go to the doctor when I'm sick or hurt and that's it.

But not here.

Very common to have a regular checkups (Diabetes checks, Cholesterol, you name it...).

So at 8 I found myself at the doctors office with Bianca.

She knows this female doctor for about 13 years now and the relationship they have is different than any relationship I ever had with a doctor.

The greet each other as friends with a kiss on the cheek for instance (I got a handshake).

This doctor spoke even faster than normally so I zoned out pretty fast but I was surprised at the amount of time she spend talking to Bianca.

We must have been in there for 40 minutes. (In the Netherlands 5 minutes is what you get most of time).

She checked me out as well (blood pressure, heart) and signed us up for blood tests.

She was indeed very nice and very professional as far as I could see.

And on the way out I got my first doctor kiss on the cheek :)

Blood was drawn soon by the most professional blood drawer in history. (I didn't even feel the needle go in).

And that was it.

We did have to pay on the spot but as many things here it was affordable enough.

I was somewhat pleased I only had one beer last night but how the rest will turn out I have no idea.

In the second week of September we will get the results.

It does make me wonder what else I said 'yes' to....



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

Manfusion. I think I suffer from this sometimes too.

Haha! I think it's a common symptom among men.

🙄 😏 What do you think about @timcliff’s Steem Investing Day he has planned

How's that possible,that women never forget a promise or a yes that we said like a million years ago, it must be love.....

Very similar to here! I remember my mother always scheduling those full check ups to me (that I hate) and I always tried to avoid it.

Looks like I'm a man made in Portugal but that would prefer to live in the Netherlands. (at least for this reason) :D

Haha! I can imagine.

Ah well. Now it's done. You may not have to say "yes" to it until your next visit to Brazil. Could give you some breathing space @exyle. 😁

where is the doctor's pic ?? in your words she looks so hot and beautiful hahah

Was not aloud :)

hahaha bianca would have killed you 😂😂

I was manfused instantly.
I couldn't remember anything about a doctor.
It does make me wonder what else I said 'yes' to....
Hahahaha LOL, That happens to us a lot. How long will you and bianca be in brazil?

For a couple of weeks more.

Check-ups were something I was always advised to go and do but to be honest I think last time I had a check up was perhaps around 9 years ago, hmm but saying that now I did have one at the hospital about 3 years ago but being there was beyond my control @exyle

Interesting that it will take that long to get labs back. Basic blood work at my office is like 2 days. Wonder if there is a big back up at the lab haha.

In the Netherlands it's not normal to have checkups.

That's because check ups statistically have no relationship with mortality rates. It's an old practice that is going out of favour.

Haha, maybe. But if I turn out to have something you be hearing I told you so for 6 days at Steemfest by her ;)

Presumably that must happen sometimes. I suspect that the reason there's no link overall is that it increases stress a very small amount for a much larger number of people, and that stress must counteract the benefit of sometimes finding something early.

Also false positives etc.

Hahaha funny story. First kiss is always a good one 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha! yeah :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67320.55
ETH 3709.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78