I Got Laid Off Today -- Here's Why I Have My Head Up

in #life7 years ago

Well, unfortunately I got the boot today from the job. Overall it's a real bummer and definitely has created a bit of a negative mood for me today. This hasn't been the first time this has happened in my career and certainly won't be the last. I'm an Engineering contractor for the DoD, so this type of thing seems to happen. Earlier I was shaken up, because it's always the unknown factor of why and what if that gets me thinking. Once I'm at peace with everything, that's when my positivity starts to run up.

Before I got the final notice this afternoon, I began looking for new opportunities to see what was out there. As I'm sitting there awaiting confirmation if I'm staying or going, I always become a nervous wreck and get shaken up pretty bad.

When the hammer finally comes down, I realize one thing -- I have my newly improved skill set and my motivation to strive for constant self-development. In the past, every time I've gotten let go, it leads to a much greater pay raise, as well as helping to motivate me to get out there and improve to even more skills and keep learning new things to be even more marketable.

In addition, we're currently in a job seekers market. We're at the lowest unemployment rate in a long time, and job recruiters are having extremely tough times filling positions. As a software and cybersecurity engineer, I know it'll be okay.

Now, the extra time just gives me opportunities to improve on my trading and Steem posts! Thankfully the market has been juicy so I can still pocket some extra.

Keep your heads up everyone! It's the weekend and we are blessed!!

Will you please consider supporting me on unemployment and give me an up-vote??? :)

Sort:  

Good luck with the job hunt and the trading! Maybe crypto will go to the moon and you won’t need to worry anymore.

Thanks! Haha that'd be awesome. Would be nice!

Good luck - I'm sure you'll find another job soon (if you want one, of course).

Thanks! Yea fortunately it's a job seekers market right now, especially for my field. :)

A few hundred dollars a day in trading can't hurt! good luck!

haha we hope so!! Wish I could just blog more here on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49