Milk thief of my lab

in #life5 years ago

This incident I am sharing is one of the most funniest things happened in my lab.
As a cell biologist, we carry out Western Blotting technique almost daily.
In our lab, we use this technique to check the expression level of proteins in
different cancer cell lines upon gene knockout or treatment with drugs. Ahh..well
still trying to understand and to find out which gene or protein is responsible for
causing Colon cancer among Indian population.

So before I proceed let me just tell
you here….for those who are from different background….we do gene knockout ,
it means we block the function of our interested gene so that it could not be
produced by the cell. The cells will show different phenotype in the absence of that
gene product. Therefore, we can determine the function of the gene.

Now coming back to the incident, so my colleague was preparing reagents for her
Western Blot experiments. To do so we require Milk protein to block the
background noise which might interfere with our results. So my colleague was
searching for Milk powder (its same milk powder we use for our COFFEE). My
friend found the new packet of it, and the moment she opened ….she was
like,’’WOW, WHAT A SMELL…FEEL LIKE EATING NOW ITSELF, THE
EXPERIMENT CAN WAIT A LITTLE LONGER,”. And that person started
eating the powder ( I DIDN’T EXPECT THAT TO HAPPEN).

And the BAD FORTUNE happened. Our boss just entered the lab when my friends
mouth was full of milk powder. Oh Lord, just imagine that situation. I couldn't say
anything that time. Boss asked, “WHAT ARE YOU EATING THAT TO IN THE
LAB?”. My friend got scared and went into trance state and replied, “nothing” (by
nodding the face). Boss got SOOOOO angry, and shouted to open the mouth (in
my mind kids rhyme started playing…Jhonny jhonny yes papa..eating sugar no
papa….open your mouth…HA HA HA). My friend couldn’t dare to open. Boss
said…...your face is covered with Milk powder and you dare to lie.
My Boss first dialogue, “ DO YOU EVEN KNOW HOW COSTLY IS THIS
MILK POWDER?...IF YOU ARE HUNGRY GO TO MY CABIN AND DRINK
MILK FROM THE CARTON”.

I actually felt like laughing….its always about the lab funds….I was wondering
even to buy milk powder…we have to think twice. What RESEARCH LIFE we
have in India.
Anyways from that day onwards my friend decided not to drink
water also in the lab thinking that what if Boss thinks that now Deionised water is
also missing because someone drank……HA HA HA.

My colleague has been named as “MILK THIEF” now.

Hope it was fun reading this.

Love Ruby

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 3.98% upvote from us for your 454 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Next time ask her to send a mass email, always works 😆😅

Congratulations @excelsureacademy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hey Ruby. Its gives immense happiness to read you post. It's being long time dint heard from you. Hoping to see some new post from your side very soon..

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61065.80
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53