Reflecting on my time in NY (Original Content)

in #life6 years ago

86362811-7eb6-488b-afca-7a2c30eafbfa.jpeg


There were some beautiful reflections coming off the Freedom Tower today, and I decided to attempt being slightly artistic when taking this photo. You could see the Hudson River on the one face of the building and the 9/11 Memorial on the other face.

After a little bit of editing on my trusty smart phone, this is the final result! (This photo is my Original Content and may not be used without my prior consent).

In viewing this reflection, I began reflecting on my time in NYC. I have spent the majority of my life, and professional career, in New York City. There is no other city that I know better than New York. That's not to say that I know everything about New York, but I know what I like, and where to find it.

I can find my favorite Bagel shops, delis, pizza joints, bars, restaurants, arcades, museums, parks... All of which are in some sort of reasonable distance or cost from where I am. I've lived in the city, driven in/around the city, commuted into the city from the suburbs, and flown in/out of the city from other locations... so many of my best life experiences involved NYC in one way or another.

I'm looking forward to my next chapter in life, and sincerely looking forward to spending time with my wife and son! But there will always be the happy and unique memories that I've made in NY.

I know that I've posted about this same subject a lot lately.. if I had to point to a reason why, I'd say that it's because I don't enjoy change. Throughout my life, I've adapted to change and taken everything in-stride, but that doesn't mean that I enjoy it. I like to think of myself as an old soul in a young body. I don't have many friends, but the ones I do have mean the world to me. I would help my friends with anything and be there for them in a time of need at a moment's notice. But I love consistency, and being able to count on something.

I guess with how much I thrive in the constantly changing environment around me, I just want to lean on the consistency in my life the get me through the turmoil...


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I was just there a few months ago, great pic. Bagels, delis and pizza! Love that about NY. Where are you moving to?

I actually moved a few years ago.. I just have been working on a project here in NY for the past 2+ years so it's like I never left 🙂

I migrated to warmer weather in the Carolinas. Now my winter consists of 30-40* weather at the worst and I'm able to completely avoid shoveling snow! (That's not celcius for those non-US people... That would be HOT!)

I love where I live now, minus not having nearly as many amazing food options at any time of day or night, who deliver, at a reasonable price. My plan is to be home for at least the next year or so, since my wife is due with our second child in the next few months and our son is nearly 2, so he's becoming more and more of a handful for my wife to deal with on her own.. add a newborn on the way and I now NEED to be home.

Ideally, I would like to spend a lot more time at home to watch both of my kids grow up, and be a big part of their lives. So that's what I'm going to work towards in this next phase of my life! 🙂

Motherfuckers won't let me into the US, couple lil charges long story but yeah..I haven't seen NY yet. I'll sneak across one day 😄

Stop selling those green and sticky plants (except to me) and you'll be here soon enough! 😂🙂

@evolved08gsr you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Well, that's new.. Gotta love the schemes that some people come up with in order to drive an agenda.

Thanks for the "fix"!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77