Genuinely Retro and Selfies

in #life5 years ago

ret1.jpg

My uncle's bathroom is genuinely retro, I don't think it has ever been done up after the apartment building was originally done. It's horrible yet somehow very attractive in it's retro style, I just had a snap a fast selfie before I left. My Fujifilm looks pretty retro too, so it fits the picture. Also wearing Levi's 501's, so I guess that would go with the theme also.

There is something I secretly like about taking a mirror selfie just holding a camera. Ya'll know I am a master self portrait creator, and I take the business very seriously, using a lot of time perfecting the image, but there is something about the ease and authenticity of a mirror selfie that interests me.

Selfies weren't really a thing before social media, even though some artists would do them of course. Now selfies are a normal thing for most people but not as something artistic most of the time. It was interesting growing up just around the time when first social medias popped up and our narcissistic tendencies lit up like a wild fire. I think it was the best thing, or possibly the worst thing to happen for a teenager. But I am glad I wasn't born yesterday and I grew up playing outside for most of my childhood, and not having any means of documenting it with a selfie stick on hand. They have it a lot worse now when from the moment a person is born, they are already online.

ret2.jpg

Sort:  

Wow... looks so much like my (now deceased) auntie's bathroom at her apartment in Copenhagen, except the tile was pale yellow; clothesline, "telephone" shower; old fluorescent light... on the dark side; not updated since about 1955. Stayed that way till her death in 2007. Only thing different in hers would have been an old-fashioned rubber shower cap...

You do "selfies as art," so you get excluded from the equation... but aside from that, so many young people's lives exist (it seems) only with an endless stream of selfies as a point of reference. With a few exceptions... other people and places are oddly absent. Is so much self-referencing a good thing? Is it bad? I dunno....

It is a thin like to walk for me too, I know self portraits "sell" better, but it's not all I want to be and do. It's a constant struggle of trying to include different sides of life in order not to have the blog just mememememememe. I do want to show what I see, not just what I look like.

Nothing on the clothesline simplifies the picture ;)

I wish I had some granny panties to put up there, would have looked hella cool! 😝

But I am glad I wasn't born yesterday and I grew up playing outside for most of my childhood, and not having any means of documenting it with a selfie stick on hand.

Kids these days spend their whole life inside the internet, they don't know the joy of going around the block in a bike falling down scraping their knee, cry a little, getting up and restart the bike ride :P Or playing hide and seek, those were the times! It's a shame where humanity is going, not even cartoons nowadays are good in my opinion...

Nice bathroom selfie

Posted using Partiko Android

I like your style!
Great photographer you are even with selfies!
Thanks for sharing your daily view with us!
Hugs 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.11
JST 0.027
BTC 65422.12
ETH 3433.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31