5.30am Wakeup Call

in #life6 years ago

CD41717B-6E49-429B-806D-5FA030E4676E.jpeg

I don’t remember when was the last time I had to wake up this early and be out the door by 6.30am. I’m not a fan of early morning wakeups, but I am a fan of sunrise. Darling sun is up just before six, so it’s already light outside, though the clocks will be turned soon so that the sunrise is a bit later. I do need to start getting up earlier to catch the sweet sunrise colours into my camera.

In order for me to get out of Kotka and back to my city in Central Finland, I had to be in a bus that leaves at 7. I am on that bus right now. I have to go to Hellsinki first to change into another bus to head up north from there. Makes little to no sense geographically to head west first but there are no straight bus or train routes to north from Kotka.

The way Finland’s railway system is build, having no easy routes between important cities, is because if there is a war, a foreign country couldn’t easily invade us and transport supplies via train tracks.

I wish I had a car so I wouldn’t have to use public transportation. The only place it makes sense to not have a car in Finland is if you live, work and sosialize in Hellsinki. Anywhere else in Finland it would basically make more sense to have a horse than to use public transportation. I might be exaggerating but it makes this country sound even more fun and rural than it is.

C42E51D7-A160-42C4-8DEB-7F3A471496C1.jpeg

Now I need to put the phone away before I get car sick.

Sort:  

Luckily I don’t have to wake up so early. Thanks for the explanation of Finland’s railway design choices 👍🏽

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't either on a normal day, today was an exception.

weird. i had an early start of 5am too. i really just wanted to get started today.

What did you manage to achieve with your early morning wakeup?

still working on it actually, reskinning out sales page for our themes promotion, struggling a little with it now tbh because of the early start, just wanna nap ;) -- https://buffet.carrd.co -- still very much in re-work.

I can't relate to them negative feeling about early wakeup. There's nothing like the quiet morning, you did ruin it a bit by having to go somewhere, but even so.

I sometimes think I would go insane if I didn't have my morning peace and quiet.

Not having to go anywhere is a very different kind of morning, that I do like! I hate getting ready and stepping outside early, but I do like that now there is still so much of the day left even though I've had to spend over 5 hours in a bus.

I have a 2 hour train ride each morning - at first it was all fun and adventures but I‘m starting to hate it.

That sounds like a lot of time wasted every day.

I hope you get to the place safely. Have a good day

I'm home safely :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60968.19
ETH 2367.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56