The movie that got under my skin (no spoilers)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

film-movie-motion-picture-390089.jpeg
source

Some movies really get under your skin.

I believe that such movies are the result of true talent, and these generally are the ones who directly touch our hearts. I know that the heart technically can not feel anything unless you’re having a heart attack, so maybe I should use another word. Those are the movies that touch our soul, our feelings, trigger our empathy, and are the ones that make us identify ourselves with the lead character(s).

Generally, when I watch a movie my goal is to escape reality for a couple of hours, and forget about everything that is wrong in this world. I want to submerge myself in a world of fantasy and powers, imagination, action and adventure. When I press the “play” button, I am stepping into an imaginary spaceship which teleports me into a world where anything is possible, and where superheroes and vigilantes save the day.

However, the movies that stay with me long after I’m done watching, are different. They're the ones that make me reflect upon life and humanity, the ones that match our reality, or that have characters that could be us. On the plane, I saw one of those movies and I can’t stop thinking about it.

The movie I saw is called “Beatriz at dinner”, and it’s the story of a modest Mexican immigrant played by Salma Hayek, who ends up being invited to stay for dinner at her employer’s house. Her employers are a very rich couple, and the other guests are real estate tycoons. I will not spoil the movie for you because I want you to watch it, but you can already imagine the unease of the main character in this setting.


The whole story depicts the development of the dinner party and the interaction between the protagonists.


I’ve rarely identified with a character this much. Not because of her social status or her cultural background, but because of her love for animals and her sensitivity.

The movie depicts the social injustice that is omnipresent in our society, racism and prejudice, the harm that humans do to animals and unto their planet for the sake of profit, and so much more.

Enough said, you’ve got to watch!


I had a very hard time choking back my tears on the plane. Luckily I was also sneezing due to the dry air, and I was able to pretend that my wet eyes were the result of allergies. To me there is nothing more embarrassing than crying in public, especially while watching a movie. Even in front of my husband. When a screenwriter is able to trigger such heavy and deep emotions in me, I believe that this is where his or her true talent comes to light. Of course, emotions are deeply personal, and someone else may not have the same reaction to this particular story as me.

If you are looking to escape this world, don’t watch it, but if you are looking to see a quality screenplay and some serious acting, I highly recommend it. I had to watch Jumanji and Ocean’s 13 afterwards, just to get the edge off.


Other movies that have triggered similar reactions in me were “Life is beautiful”, “Remember”, “Okja”, Revolutionary Road and “Lemon Tree”.

Which movie has impacted you lately, and why?



If you'd like to be mentored on your writing or presentation skills, and receive feedback on your posts, join our Discord channel here

Banner.jpg

Sort:  

nice

You know? I would not have had this movie on my radar at all. Now I have to see it!

Thanks for sharing not just your thoughts but your experience!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65156.13
ETH 3530.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48