Handcrafting Drums in the Ozark Mountains (Part 2 - Video)

in #life7 years ago

Welcome back for Part 2 of Handcrafting Drums in the Ozark Mountains. In this video I show the drum that was crafted last week, as well as demonstrating it's sound and comparing it to two other drums which were made in the same drum shop.

This video also contains footage of Drumming in the Park on July 1st, 2017 in Eureka Springs, AR. I played the drum described in Handcrafting Drums in the Ozark Mountains Part 1 at this event. I'm the guy in the black shirt, green shorts and hat, and I'm sure you recognize the drum.


Notes: This drum left the shop on Friday afternoon in order to use it at the event last night. Normally after heading the drum will stay in the shop and be pulled a few more times for better tension. Our plan was to use the drum at the event, then bring it back for another round of pulling. Normally playing these drums as much as described does not slack the head near as much.

Thank you for reading about my adventures in drum making. If you enjoyed this video please upvote and resteem this post, and you can follow me @eurekaj for more stories from the Ozark Mountains.



Sort:  

Sounds good @eurekaj a crisp sound. Thank you for sharing. Once it fully tunes that's going to be an cracking drum. I have just had to give my djembe back (well it was on loan from a friend) so back to my Ugandan drum very out of tune. I need to make a fire an tighten the hide.

Upvoted but not with much effect i'm afaid. Still working on that one :)

Thanks! I agree. This drum is gonna have a nice pop to it when it is pulled again. Thanks for the upvote. You enjoying the content enough to engage in discussion is a pretty good effect, I would say. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by eurekaj from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Nice..
I sani, Im Indonesian, plz see my account @kakilasak
I hope u can follow me n upvote my post :)

Congratulations @eurekaj! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69067.71
ETH 3754.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72