Inanimatoculorum - A Short Poem

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Here is a short poem I wrote on a dark day

Man Reflecting.jpg

The title signifies eyes showing no signs of life -- Inanimate Oculorum

Inanimatoculorum

A familiar man looks upon me,
He asks me what I deem,
His eyes pierce as a laser,
It’s a never ending beam,

He wants to know my story,
So I explain to him my theme,
That it’s meaningless and empty,
That it’s forever just a dream,

Falling back while moving forward,
In a state of no control,
I just can’t seem to find my way,
I’m out searching for my goal,

He peers at me in his usual way,
He is searching for a soul,
I’m afraid he’ll find what I fear the most,
A dark and empty meaningless hole,

Sort:  

I see a man looking in a mirror at himself. Beautifully done!!

Thank you! You picked up on exactly what I was trying to depict. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58647.98
ETH 2291.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46