About postcards and other souvenirs

in #life7 years ago

Hello there steemians. How you doing?

This is the G in «EspressoBreak» talking (you can’t see it but it’s there, trust me).

So what if we talk a little about postcards while waiting for my pasta ❤️ to cook?
Awesome, right?

6775ad04-6822-4343-a238-33e2643d1f80.jpg

First of all let me tell you that I have a thing for postcards (and pasta too, obv.)
I love to receive them, but what I love more is to send them.

Everything started when I was 8 and I went to Paris with my parents.
Before leaving I asked my grandma what she’d like me to get for her and her answer was «send me a postcard».
I was a little disappointed at first. I wanted to get her something really cool, and French and shining… and she only wanted a card?
C’mon, right?

Only when I wrote that card I understood why my grandma liked it that much.
It was something personal, not like every other souvenir that is just the same for everyone else.

IMG_4849.JPG

It takes some effort to write it, to know what to say about your adventure and more importantly (for me) to choose the right one. Furthermore, seeing my grandma eyes lightening from happiness when she received it was one of the best things that happened to me as a child. I was so taken aback that I can remember that moment till​l now.
It was like she could actually feel all the thing I wrote on that postcard (and I was 8, I could barely write

«ciao nonna»).

Since then when someone asks me for some souvenirs from my travels I always ask them for their address.

Let us know what are your emotions about postcards.

Do you send them? Do you like to receive them?

-EspressoBreak ☕️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68086.39
ETH 2626.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67