Perspective and Stress

in #life8 years ago

With all the stress I've had in the last month, from my car, my job, the general deterioration of my finances and general satisfaction with life, etc etc, all the things that stress me out constantly, in retrospect, it's no surprise that I got the never ending headache again.

It's really unpleasant. It sits there, in the back of my head, ready to spring forth if I exert myself or get excited or stressed by something. Every night, I would take a few aspirin and go to bed, certain that this was it, and I would wake up refreshed and ready to face the day. But every morning, there it was, in the back of my head, still waiting to pounce. It was especially horrible on the days when I had to sit in traffic with no A/C.

It's happened before, and it's a sign that I've been letting everything get to me. Stress is a bitch when it's nonstop. Every time you stop to think about anything, it creeps in. Maybe one day, I'll have a life where I won't have to worry about this kind of thing any more. I dunno. That would be nice.

But regardless, you can't let stress own you. You have to step back, and remember that no matter what's going wrong, dwelling on it won't help. The only thing you can do is keep on swimming.

So, since my car was in the shop today and I obviously wasn't going to work, I spent the day relaxing, and reflecting on all the positive things I can and will do to help me get through the day and week and month and year, and let myself just smile and enjoy what little things I have. Hopefully, the headache isn't coming back tomorrow morning.

Sort:  

Hey Im in a similar place, work has been getting me down for a while and I have been getting more and more exhausted, I have that headache too. Im typing this at 5AM because I cant sleep and there is nothing else to do. The only way to stop the headache, I think, must be to make some changes.
Feel better.

It's hard to explain. When I realize I've gotten to this point, I just stop. As soon as I can, I just stop everything, and just imagine good things that could be. I think about a brighter future, and what I'm capable of, and I shy away from any of the negativity. You have to get out of the negative loop. I hope you can take something from that.

Yeah there is no more negativity for me now, its gone far enough that a change is going to come one way or another. Id rather be poor and healthy, than rich and miserable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60270.38
ETH 3307.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40