You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ask the Car Guy @socky Feb 17, 2019

in #life6 years ago

With my 6 years old TCE 90 (0,9 Turbo Benziner) I get from time to time the warning for "No more cooling water" and if I then open the hood and look the cooling water is all...I open the cover and it runs some cooling water from the engine back...The tank is almost full again..Everything hisses and steams...Later the cooling water is all again...When I refill it remains sometimes for months without problems, sometimes I have the same problem a few days later with the same cooling water level.I can handle it with a little reserve but do you have an idea? Best regards

Sort:  

I don't understand your description of the problem. Are you losing cooling fluid or not?

If you remove the coolant pressure tank cap when the engine is hot, it is common to have steam and hissing. It is actually dangerous and could cause you injury from burns. Most cars will have a warning on that cap. When you remove that cap when the engine is hot, you release the pressure which lowers the boiling point of the coolant. This causes the coolant to start boiling. I am not familiar with a "No more cooling water" warning. Most cars have an over temperature warning. If you are not losing water, the coolant temperature sensor may be faulty. If your car has a coolant level sensor, then that may be faulty. If your car is actually overheating, then check to see if your radiator fan is switching on. If it is not switching on, then the fan or the fan control circuit could be faulty. If your radiator fan is switching on when hot and still overheating, your thermostat could be faulty. If you are losing coolant, then you have a leak somewhere.

I hope that helps. Don't get burned.

Thank you very much. Maybee thermostat is faulty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75