You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time vs. Money

in #life8 years ago

A great reminder that we need to make sure our lives are balanced. I went through a two year period about six years ago where I regularly worked 60-70hrs per week at my day job. Everything else suffered and I really didn't have much to show for it after taxes. I'll never do that again. Thanks!

Sort:  

Thank you. It seems you have hands on experience with working a lot over an extended period of time. I can imagine many things suffering from that. Did you work that hard to try to get back on top after the housing crisis? I'm glad you are doing much better now.

You're welcome. Trying to pay off debt was part of it but mostly the extended hours were due to a computer system change that caused 3 times more work for everyone. Management didn't want to admit the bad decision so everyone suffered for a few years until fixes were put in place to streamline processes. This is one reason Choose Yourself resonated so loudly with me...the feeling of not having control of the situation.

O man....working like a dog because somebody else made a mistake must be horrible. What a bad way to treat your workers. And no way to control that situation. I can feel your pain. I don't like not having control either.

I loved the book Choose Yourself. It has changed my way of looking at my business and myself a lot. Again thanks so much for recommending it. It has affected most of the decisions I have made since.

It was that very situation that made Choose Yourself so potent for me. I'm happy that it resonated with you as well! It really is amazing how a book like that can completely change your perspective.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45