You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Need Your Advice... About Vodka and Wine :)

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Best of luck with this new venture @yahialababidi! Here in the U.S. we have a kind of renaissance going on with micro-brewed beers and spirits. Tattersall is a local distillery that is making some big moves in the spirits business.

For a new brand to get attention they have to stand out from traditional offerings in some way. This attention could be winning a major industry award, a celebrity endorsement, or some kind of health benefit that can be backed by research. The biggest recent success story I can think of is Skinny Girl margaritas, you may want to research their story.

So many products are being paired with the blockchain to prove their origin source, freshness, and/or purity. Volvo just announced they were going to use blockchain to prove the cobalt they use in their EV batteries isn't mined by children. Since you already have access to the blockchain community via Steemit I would say the answer may lie in this vein.

What if you were to put QR codes on each bottle that would use blockchain to allow the consumer to see things like date of bottling, location of bottling, etc? To my knowledge these would be the first alcoholic beverages to do this. If you go this route you could contact crypto conferences and festivals to offer your products to them. You could even make each bottle a kind of NFT and run contests making every 10,000th bottle a prize of some kind that could be redeemed for Bitcoin (or Steem).

Sort:  

Thank you, Eric, for this thoughtful response!

Since I've posted this, some developments... One, a well respected sommelier is willing to sample our wine and possibly carry in his restaurants/recommend to his distributors, so that's obviously major.

But, things seem to be stalling on manufacturer end and I must hold my horses until they sort things out & decide way ahead.

The blockchain connection is a very intriguing one. After around 2 years (on an off), I admit to mixed feelings about good 'ole Steemit --still struggling to find a reliable, sizeable audience here, versus Facebook, say, or Twitter. But, will explore QR codes and contest routes.

Grateful for this brain-strumming session and hope you're thriving in what matters to you _/|\_

It sounds like you're making good progress! It makes me happy to see people follow their dreams and bring them to fruition.

Hopefully the snafu with the manufacturer gets sorted out quickly.

Yes, a lot of people are beginning to use the blockchain now for these purposes. Waltoncoin (no relation to my family) is hoping to find a niche by allowing retailers to prove provenance of their product. The chain lets customers to view the lifecycle of what they're buying on a blockchain, from manufacturing to purchase, so they know what they're buying isn't counterfeit. I see commonly counterfeited luxury brands like Rolex, Gucci, Louis Vuitton, etc. jumping on the bandwagon. This will be amazing for original works of art as well.

Steemit can be tough to build an active audience on these days. Luckily, I got in early when more people actually read posts and were engaged. Unfortunately the engagement for my writing here is getting less and less despite having 10k+ followers. We often joke though that time is compressed on the blockchain though, one year is like a decade anywhere else. I had about a year here (late 2016 through mid-2017) where I had lots of engagement and I'm grateful for that.

I wish you the best of luck on your journey!

I appreciate your goodwill, Eric. You seem like a hard worker, with tenacity. That, with talent and the ability to be a team player (both of which you possess) explains your success, here.

I’m not quite as much of a crypto—enthusiast as you are, but I’m certainly curious & have even begun applying for jobs in blockchain.

Holler if you hear of any suitable,remote work?

Here’s resume

Have a lovely weekend 🙏🏼

Thank you! If I hear of anything I'll let you know. I hope you enjoy the rest of your week!

Much appreciated. The weekend looms large on the horizon ... which is enjoyable :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64403.69
ETH 3463.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50