My Former Life as a Cartoonist (and the Value of Unanswered Prayers)

in #life8 years ago (edited)

It’s sometimes intriguing to me how the human mind works, or at least my mind anyway. One thought can start a chain reaction that leads my memory to meander off in directions completely unintended and unforeseen.

Please bare with me...this happens to be a long and winding road before we get to any sort of conclusion. You see, I’ve had the flu for the past few days and have been sleeping on the couch so as not to disturb my wife with my hacking and sneezing. As I lay there on the couch I reminisced about about something I hadn’t thought of for a very long time, the old syndicated coming strip, Andy Capp.

What brought this strip to mind?

Okay, maybe the cold medication played a small part in this but I remembered when Andy wasn’t at the pub or arguing with his wife Flo he was sleeping on the couch on his side, just like I happened to be when the thought came to me.


(from GoComics.com)

I then began to think about how much I used to look forward to reading the comics with my breakfast and morning coffee when I still lived with my parents in the late eighties. I especially looked forward to the Sunday comics, which were about six pages and in full color. I always read Andy but my all time favorite strip was Calvin and Hobbes. This was in a day when newspapers were substantial and not the small magazine sized publications of today.

Sometimes I miss those days. With as busy as life seems these days I can’t imagine spending forty-five minutes of my day reading a newspaper anymore.

I’ve actually drawn longer than I’ve been a writer. I’ve been scribbling since my earliest memory and even started a comic strip when I was ten called, “Snibbly.” I’m so happy there are no surviving examples of this one. The protagonist was a bachelor who lived with only his dog and for some reason it took place in England. Many of the jokes involved farts and other things that preteen males find to be hilarious. It was truly horrible.

Soon after I graduated High School I fantasized about being a syndicated cartoonist. It was the perfect job for an introvert! Working at home every day, making a decent salary, having almost complete anonymity, and exercising all of the creativity I could muster. Cartooning was a chance for me to combine both my loves of drawing and writing. I enjoyed the challenge of doing one panel strips especially. I viewed one panel comic strips as a sort of haiku for the artist to be able to get a whole idea across in one small panel.

My Dreams of Being a Cartoonist Start to Come True

After moving to Minnesota about five years later I began go after my dream. I created a one panel strip called, “As Good As It Gets?” and I was thrilled when it was picked up by a regional newspaper called, The Edge Newspaper (now EdgeLife Magazine). At the time this newspaper was distributed in six or seven states and had a sizable readership. It was also a monthly publication so it was easy to meet the deadlines. This is the PERFECT proving ground to be discovered by one of the major comic syndicates, I thought.

Alas, My Cartooning Dreams Fell Victim to Technology

It was a classic case of being in the wrong place at the wrong time. Newspaper readership plummeted in the early 2000’s due to the advent of the internet and digital media. There just wasn't the readership to support as many new comic strips anymore. I have to say, the gig was a true blast while it lasted. Although my strip never reached full syndication, I came close and had a taste of my dream.

Of course, in hindsight, I realize it all happened for a reason. In past decades it may've worked out just fine but the late nineties were probably the worst time to be a cartoonist. If somehow I would've achieved syndication my writing likely never would’ve developed. I also would’ve been locked into a withering industry. Life is funny that way, sometimes we find ourselves extremely thankful for unanswered prayers.

Following are the only surviving examples of my comic strip, As Good As It Gets?:







(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


P.S. All of the great comics you remember from your childhood are now available here on GoComics.com.


*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and blockchain enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my poetry, autographed copies of my handmade poetry chapbooks, Emancipation, and The Greatest of Secrets are for sale now on Peerhub for a limited time.

Eric Vance Walton - Media

www.ericvancewalton.net

Steemit

Twitter

Facebook

Sort:  

Really fun to hear about your first career and I completely enjoyed these comics, you certainly have a talent for it!

Thanks, Ruth! That means a lot coming from an artist! The gig was only for two or three years but it was so much fun. Once life slows down a little I might pick it up again. I plan on getting an iPad Pro in a year or so maybe I'll try to go digital with it. I appreciate your comment!

I have to admit that I secretly wished that you'd pick it up again as I read, so I'm glad to hear that you might!

Interesting...I like your drawing :)

Every Sunday without fail while I was growing up my father would pick up the paper. I was so impressed by the bulk and weight of it, and remember thinking as my dad handed me the comics, that one day I would be sophisticated like him and read what I then considered the boring parts (I would have likely loved snibbly at the time, haha!) I later learned that he mostly bought it for the T.V. guide and the cinema section--I now feel I was the one with the more sophisticated taste LOL.
These were great, I'm still grinning over the smoker's last refuge ;)

Thanks! What a great memory that is. The newspaper used to be such a large part of our culture and our day. The smoker's last refuge was probably my favorite. 😊

I meant to say something about the unanswered prayers...how right that is. Timing is so important in this realm.
Our other conversation is thoroughly nested-I'm excited to read your next book, look forward to you reaching out ;)

You're right, timing is really everything. It makes the difference between what's meant to be and what isn't. I'll be sure to let you know when the next one is ready! My imagination is already leaping to the third! : ) Thanks!

I think you (ironically?) successfully predicted a Y2K rickshaw trend here.
Bring back the comic strips- I really enjoyed these!

I didn't know about the rickshaw trend? Was this really a thing in the UK? I might have to bring the comic back for Steemit. It will have to be a while though, I have to get this second novel done first. I'm going to search for a good iPad app to make static comics, this would really speed up production and may allow me to get started sooner. Back then everything was done by hand, totally old school and it could take hours for each one. Thanks, Opheliafu!

I think popularity is growing in many urban areas. I also need to invest in some tech, my slate and pencil are getting worn down.

My friend, who's an artist, just got the iPad Pro with the Apple pencil and absolutely loves it. I'll probably go that route when it's time to upgrade from my MacBook.

I do have a graphics tablet but I can't get the hang of it, I suppose a tablet is different. I should try and get out of my Luddite ways more!

You're doing wonderfully with you're current methods. There's something much more substantial about real paint on real paper.

Nice to read this post.

An interesting read and some witty comics. Well done!

Thanks @nikflossus! It was a fun experience for a few years.

I think Snibbly should be resurrected in chapbook form. :)

I can still draw him but, oh man, the world's just not ready. 😜 Maybe under a pseudonym? Lol.

I think Walton Eric Vance works. :)

Yeah or maybe Eric Van Walton. That adds a Dutch flair. Lol.

You could keep cartooning and indie publishing them in a book.

Good idea, I loved doing it but don't know where I'd find the time. I suppose we make time for the things that matter. I'm going to have to consider it. Thanks!

Quite tacky in some ways. You always start a series here on steemit.
If daily is too much, maybe weekly or monthly.

I'm not sure what you're referring to @ace108.

I mean you could start drawing your new cartoons and post in steemit regularly.

Oh, thanks for clarifying! Yes, not a bad idea. Maybe I will, thanks!

you're welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64