A Walk with the Dead

in #life6 years ago

IMG_20180529_150821.jpg

I walked through the Lone Fir Cemetery in Portland, twenty years ago, with a woman who I thought would be buried with me. We're not together anymore. Now I have a family, and after I dropped my son off to school I went to see the graves. It's good to have an urban adventure now and then, after you've had your coffee.

KIMG1387.JPG

Floyd Seltzer died in 1984. His wife, Adriana, was to be buried next to him. What happened to her? If she's still alive she's 116 years old. I bet she found someone new. I bet it happened long before Floyd died, but he hoped against hope, and kept the plot in case she changed her mind. I imagine her to be Italian with curly her like a Bernini. Later I go online. I was wrong. Her family was from the Netherlands. She died in 2000. She's buried there next to Lloyd. The date remains blank.

IMG_20180529_151419.jpg

From the back this grave looked like a bowling bowl. I figured it was a guy who was really into his league but it's the Dragonhorns, EJ and PJ. That makes no sense. Dr. Tran was born in 47 and lived 60 years. Apparently his wife was neither born nor died. She is eternal.

IMG_20180529_151158.jpg

The words are in Cyrillic, and although she died in '97 there are flowers on the grave. The only graves I saw with pictures like this on them, were other graves in Cyrillic.

KIMG1388.JPG
These people are obviously all connected although only two of the last names are the same. On closer inspection the three young people all died on the same day, May 7, 2006. What in earth happened that day? I imagine they were all friends and died in a boating accident. I don't know why I think it was a boat.
KIMG1389.JPG

KIMG1392.JPG

Child graves are the most brutal and most of them are dated when infant mortality was high. But here, graveside, was a Mother's Day card.
KIMG1390.JPG
The card reads:
Dear Mom—The words I feel like not matter how many times. I say it you can't hear me. God has rescused [sic] you. And taken all your worries. Lord I question you not. I just miss my mother. Mom you know I [heart] my sisters it's just not easy, forgive it's just hard and Tank is so awesome and I want the kids closer so I just keep praying. I wish you could be here to laugh and get nails done and go eat I wish I could spoil my mom today I [heart] you, always Yellow Jackets.
But oddly the card was left here:KIMG1391.JPG
Captain Norton died in 1879 and his wife died in 1892!

I liked this vintage grave:
IMG_20180529_151514.jpg

I leave the gates and glimpse the graves once more through the black iron fence and the roses. There are so many lives to contemplate at the Lone Fir. I once thought our grandchildren would visit our marker--I and that woman I loved. She's long gone like the host that lie in the ground here. I walk, and soon forget about her, them, as I return to the living. KIMG1397.JPG

Sort:  

As I'm looking and reading through these images, the card, your words I'm finding this very moving @ericstern....I guess I rarely visit graveyards! And I'm so surprised by the photo-images of those buried...makes sense but is a bit bizarre!

Thanks. I used to visit graveyards all of the time as a moody teenager. I haven't since then, but at the very least it's a (albeit weird sometimes) reminder of mortality and an historical record too.

I suppose my family is odd, we often visit cemeteries and graveyards. We have some really lovely ones where I live, but ours contain graves from before we were even the United states, in 1600's and early 1700's, They often have the skull with wing carvings, or if you were to see the funny plastic gravestones they make for Halloween decorations, they seem to be based on those found in our old graveyards here in MA.

My little village has a lovely old burial ground on the pond in the towns center and we have even pic-niced here. A lovely view over the water, swans and birdsong, people keep it nice.

I even remember as a child going to grave sites on certain holidays to add new flowers and to remember those who have gone.

It's so interesting that you found that card.

I'm from Philadelphia, originally, and I certainly recall those skulls with the wings carving. I don't think it's odd at all to visit, it's really a history lesson, a mortality reminder, and even a sometimes a date in the true spirit of Gothic Romance. This visit made me want o visit more. I also like speculating on the lives when I have very little info. It's a fun detective/inference game.

Yeah, I agree....it offers an important perspective of "things"

resteemed....hope it brings you some visibiity ;-)

Congratulations @ericstern! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ericstern! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29