You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vlog #55: More info about tax on the Steem blockchain. Visited an accountant today.

in #life7 years ago

I honestly think that since payout is in SBD & steem and not FIAT, your safe from Tax up to the point when they actually decided how to treat cryptocurrency. They can't tell you to pay tax all the way back to when (now) there is no law saying being payed for blogging in crypto falls under labor. so the way I see it, worst case you pay property tax for crypto converted to fiat.

I know they are the accountants, but I really think (hope) that Cryptocurrency being different from Fiat is the key here.

Sort:  

It's all theory here for me too, but let's say your boss pays you in SBD instead of Euro. Would that mean no income tax applies? I doubt that. Of course, Steem from blogging is 'new' SBD. that would be a difference.

All I can say is, I don't know and I want people that know all the rules to figure it out for me.

if you put it that way ... then again, there might be laws dictating he has to pay me in Fiat ... as in, I am by law required to be payed in Fiat money and not in goods so they can actually tax me. Cc might still be considered 'goods' at this point.

Interesting topic to say the least and great idea to go and find out.
Hope you get to hear back from them soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65051.86
ETH 3163.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54