Preparing for the company Wintersport trip - My awesome own Snowboard, back from retirement.

in #life7 years ago

I've been blessed with an awesome employer. And since business is great, he decided to take the lot of us on a company wintersport weekend.

We're to leave on a friday at 14:00 and we'll arrive somewhere around dinnertime in the town of Winterbergen Germany. So by then, the pistes will be closed. But that's ok, it'll be awesome the next day.

In preparation of this trip everybody was asked for shoe-sizes and weight and whatnot, for the rental equipment. This got the female half of the employees in a nice seething froth of fury. Being male I couldn't care less. I hear you thinking sure ! .. ok, if you must know, I way somewhere in the region of 90 Kilograms ...you read that right. Metric system !

Anyways, back on topic. I couldn't care less, and more so even because I have happen to be in possession of my very OWN snowboard. Ok, admittedly I've had the thing since the early twothousands. And I haven't actually been on it for near over 10 years though, but I hope it still works.

Before that I used to go every year with my friends. We started out by going on weekend trips, leave Thursdaynight, arrive friday afernoon and leve on sunday afternoon to return on monday (instead of to germany, we went to the French Alpes) But we quickly decided that wasn't enough to sate our hunger for rocking down the slopes. So the weekend became a week and that for a coupe of years in a row. Therefor it made sense to buy all the equipment. But, equipment you own, needs to be taken care of.

image.png

Therefore, since preparation is everything, I pulled my board bag and snowboard travel bag with all my gear of the attic last week, while suffocating and the amount of dust that I shook loose. It was time to check out what state it was in after I retired it way back and never checked it out again. It traveled with me from house to house, but It hadn't been unpacked since last I put it away.

I have the full package. Board, bindings, boots, cloths, gloves with plastic protection in it to prevent breaking of appendages, short pants with padding for those moments I'm less awesome than I would love to be, helmet .... it was all looking great so far.

The state of the snowboard however, after the last time it was used, was kinda sorry though. There were large grooves in it, some nicks and scrapes, an overall 'what the hell did you do with it' state so to speak. So I decided it could do with a checkup and restoration of the waxlayer on the bottom.

I brought it to a large sports store that provides waxing and sharpening services (the sides of snowboards and skies need a sharp edge, while the bottom needs to be waxed so you can actually you know, slide over the snow)

This weekend, I went back to pick it up and the bottom is looking totally ace now. Not a groove or snag to be seen.

Frontside

image.png

Backside

image.png


After all these years I still really like the design. The front has like a comic panel piece of what I believe to be The Good, The Bad and The Ugly, which, you know, is an awesome movie with awesome actor Clint Eastwood. The backside is adorned with the Guns & Roses logo, which way back when, used to be a great rockband. Both equally appropriate, because this boards model name is Nitro Magnum. Can't go wrong with that. I love it to pieces.

It's also an extra wide snowboard for those size 46 (12us) juggernaut battlecruiser feet of mine.

Well, I'm just glad it's ready to go and I'm totally looking forward to hitting the slopes again after 10 years of absence and Rocking & Riding down those snowy hills again with my Rockin’&Ridin’ playlist blearing through my headphones.


Full STEEM ahead my fellow Steemians - @eqko


Me and my fellow blockbrothers are a witness as @blockbrothers. If you want to support us we would appreciate your vote here. Or you could choose to set us as your proxy.
witness_vote.gif


Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

As blockbrothers, we build Steemify, a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.
Get it Here:


Sort:  

I think many of your posts have been accepted and I will continue to think

Nice man. Keeping it oldskool. I have a similar story but with an old Manta bodyboard. It's probably over 20 years old now but still floats,, and works fine.ha
I have a 6 track album you may dig whilst cruising the slopes :) I'll hook you up if you like acoustic guitar music :)

Good luck with your trip man. Resteemed and voted.
Peace.

Amazing story☺ good luck and wish you a safe journey for your trip☺

That will be something! After 10 years! I wish you a fantastic weekend, and please, please take care! You are no longer in your twenties. But I think @rijkie will tell you the same.

My work colleagues are all getting together in March to go to go skying but needless to say it's a bad idea for me for two reasons: too much weight and too much marriage going on this year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58320.47
ETH 2367.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45