Opting for Bestest Dad instead of Boooh Dad.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday my wife had a 'Sisters Day' it's a day when she and (surprise !) her sister hang out together doing whatever they want to do without the added luggage of husband and kids. Just the two of them Shopping, going to dinner ... a little sister quality time.

Now what !


That left me to take care of the kids today and entertain them (and trust me, kids DO need to be entertained).

I had 2 choices.
My normal path of Parenting, being a responsible dad, which would make this day hard and long and not so fun and fire & brimstone and suffering for all of 3 us (me and my two sons of nearly 6 and 3.5).
See, the past two weeks were christmas holidays, so no school, which, towards the end, tends to make kids less agreeable on things. Clearly, not the most desireable of choices.

Oooooorrrrrrrr ... I could choose to be fun dad ... allowing them to do whatever they wanted to do whenever they wanted to do. I'll give you 3 guesses as to which option I went for ?

image.png
yay!! let's climb dad

This resulted in lot's of playfights. And when I say playfights, it's mostly the two of them dropping 'bottombombs' and 'kneebombs' and free dives on me or trying to climb me and me hurling them of me back into the softness of the couch (I swear, the youngest is fearlessly expecting me to catch him after whatever crazy ass jump he has come up with of pulling of)... it's a small wonder no one gets hurt during these playfights.

Somewhere during the day, I had to decide what to do for dinner, because the weekly groceries shopping was postponed to today, so the fridge was kinda empty. Again, I could've done the good parenting thing and buy healthy things that they wouldn't eat anyways or after thinking hard and long (well, maybe not, I was after all opting for best dad in the world instead of 'Boooooh' Dad.) I could bake them pancakes for dinner !

Pancakes


Now I'm not sure how it is in other countries. I have a feeling pancakes is a thing for breakfast if movies are anything to go on. Here though, in The Netherlands, pancakes could be considered dinner. They're thinner and larger than the average breakfast pancake though we do also pour Syrup on them or sugar. Sometimes we even add bacon & cheese during the bake (bacon & cheese with Syrup on pancakes is my favourite combo !)

So, time to start baking. The average package can wield a whopping 12 pancakes at least (and I'm famous for getting even more out of the packages)

A little tandem baking to speed things along. 2 Frying pans out of sync, when the 1st is done, it's time to flip the 2nd and vise versa.

image.pngimage.png

Will you just look at that stack of beauties !


image.png

Well boys, what's the verdict ? How awesome is dad ?


image.png


Full STEEM ahead my fellow Steemians - @eqko


Me and my fellow blockbrothers are a witness as @blockbrothers. If you want to support us we would appreciate your vote here. Or you could choose to set us as your proxy.

As blockbrothers, we build Steemify, a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.
Get it Here:


Sort:  

You’re awesome! 😍

Thanks, I learn from the best ;)

"Hold on a second, the syrup isn't turned just right."
"But we're hungry!"
"Just a few more shots!"

Lol, exactly what I was thinking 😂

Haha so true !

That is what being a dad is all about!! Well done bro! My nephews deserve a dad like you!

Haha thumbs up for you!

Thanks :)

The thumbs up from the 2 boys are your reward!
The best ever

That's what it all boils down to for sure !

Sounds like a very well spent Saturday! Good job my friend

You bet.

Not very responsible... but well done! ✋️

It's nice NOT being responsible for a change =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71