Coffee Time: Life is hard!

in #life6 years ago

Philip-K-Dick-Quote-I.jpg

Well for some it can be. Life can throw us a few wobblers on your journey.

I tend to find that the key to much success is to be passionate but to also be able to rein in your feelings from time to time, to see things from other's point of view, and to realize that what we intend to communicate may not be fully understood by others.

So to summarize, see things from other peoples point of view, exercise restraint of your emotions, and understand that what we may say may come across completely different as to what we intended.

Without getting up upon my metaphorical soapbox and saying "life is hard" we all know this. I can guarentee that you, like myself have gone through some sort of hell in life. we all have, but at times it's easy to forget that others are also suffering.

2020452-Wendy-Mass-Quote-Be-kind-for-everyone-you-meet-is-fighting-a.jpg

It's easy to jump up on a soap box and lecture another about how wrong they are, or how they made you feel x, y, and Z. It's easy to forget that everyone has feelings, that everyone has been hurt, and has loved.
It's easy to forget that we share more with our opponents than what devides us.

Now, I can honestly tell you that I have fucked up more times than I care to remember, but each time I've learned from those mistakes. And one of the biggest mistakes that I made for many years, was to not think of other peoples emotions. Yes, I know this sounds like some Christmas Card BS but being from a military and STEM background, I tend to have ignored what is at the core of humanity, what separates us from the beats... Our feelings and emotions.

In business, and in most things in life. You are more likely to be believed and listened to if you speak to another person's heart, not their ears. Find what you hold in common with them and see if their is a way to work together.

And for today, this is a good point to pause my random thought of the day. So my friends, let's continue the discussion. How do you deal with things when life is throwing you a few curved balls?

Sort:  

Great to see you back, hopefully rested and well. Was looking back through your blog when I see the old town square in Poznan! I was last there in 2009. Went 4 times in total across a couple of years, fabulous city :-) Really took me back seeing those pics crop up!
Is BJs still there ?

Hey mate, on the mend but still not quite there. Doing my best to avoid problems and a**holes.
For a moment I thought we were talking about a different type of BJs :P. I am not too sure if its still there though. I absolutely love Poznan, if I could then I would get a place there but work is hard to find. I was almost involved with a game company there about a game set on a Lunar base but it didnt happen :(
Saying that, when I get some dosh I may nip back to Poznan and finally claim my burger. :D

IMG_20180911_174037.jpg

Where are you now @nathen007 are you back in Thailand?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74