The Missing Piece

in #life6 years ago

This image disturbs me. But mainly for remembering back to the period of time when I was hunting around desperately for the missing piece. I mean, it's fine, it's not going anywhere, and anyone visiting us would never have noticed it unless they have eagle eyes. But I know it's there. And that's enough to eat at my completion-ist tendencies.

Wow, as I write this the subway is undergoing some weird performance art. I'm in a train car and it has trudged to a stop.

"Hey uh. The train is not moving forward."

Great, thank you for the obvious comment.

Radio exchange. "Do you see blah signal?" "No, I do not" "okay have to report that to control center. Let me try something"

The lights go out. Some mechanical humming, and then the lights flash on and off twice accompanied by fun spinning up noises. Now there's a persistent buzz.

"Experiencing problems. We are checking the train."

Maybe they are looking for a missing piece too. At least there's light. And hey, if y'all feeling down about crypto in general, I suppose there's a silver lining there. There's still light. Someone's paying for electricity. I can talk and you can read. Granted that's a very low standard for anything. People are here. I was listening into @pennsif's State Of Steem forum, and my goodness some people are just plain nasty in there. One wonders why they are bothering to listen at all. I heard plenty of constructive directions, and it's not as if we were expecting to fix everything in one go right?

Meanwhile, more lower rumblings.

"Okay we are trying to move the train now"

Lights flashing on and off. Sounds cut off and become silent.

"Train operator, try to move the train if you can"

Oh dear....

"Train operator, can you hear me?"

"Train is fully charged already"

Ooh we're moving. Cool.... Oh no, you're going express? Grumbles and gets out of the train.

What did I just witness? Ah well, so it goes. Things don't always go to plan, but if we're flexible enough we can make things work.

What a day though, what a day.... Recently there have been all sorts of incidents. Must be one of those times of the year... The planets have spoken.

And if you are wondering about the missing piece... Did I ever find it?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I keep on thinking you've posted this photo upside down and its really the base for a table light and its switch

Well the missing screw would still bother me :) maybe it's more noticeable that way too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Imagine having the same problem with the light fixture but you seen the little screw cover fall. But you still can’t find it after a year . That’s my hell!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh goodness, that would be maddening indeed!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @eonwarped!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.804 which ranks you at #1353 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 235 contributions, your post is ranked at #29.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

That missing screw would bother me also, I am the kind of person if I did not eventually find the screw well nut i guess I would end up changing the lamp fitting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66