You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Remembering Pascal - Taking care of our planet

in #life6 years ago

Hmm sure, that makes sense from a global perspective, but the friction to business, which you already point out, is exactly the point in which this argument becomes not so productive.

Because... If it isn't real, they shouldn't be wasting resources to prepare for it, at least from an efficiency stand point. However, it does seem completely detrimental to everyone (even themselves) if they are spending money exactly to fund a biased and unscientific alternative narrative.

I don't think I'm talking crazy here, I feel like we've seen plenty of examples of exactly this kind of behavior of funding studies that engage in some unethical practices in their studies to alter the desired conclusion. Unfortunately I do not come prepared with any references, so you should all take what I'm saying with a grain of salt too.

Sort:  

Oh listen, I'm willing to have a conversation regarding this subject with anyone. But the arguments, the points have to be sound.

When I hear things like... Oh... but I don't believe in climate change and I ask... What does that mean? and their response again is... I just don't believe in it. Then we are just having a conversation while sitting in a pond of ignorance.

I understand the cost to business, I get it. I'm trying to imply however that some things are more common sense than others. I'll give you an example, a concrete example.

Here we are defending the coal industry when it's the energy equivalent of us trying to keep the FAX machine alive. Why have we not moved on? Why is the romanticism even have a ticket to the deli counter on this one.

My father was a miner, my grandpa was a miner... so I wanna be a miner.

Yes, I get it.. but listen my brother, your lungs... this is toxic, you are not only killing yourself, its not good for the planet... We have options now..

Oh... but mer jerb...

You can do other jerbs...

I dunno. I guess I'm being a bit insensitive.

Oh yes 100% agreed. This is why I was offering a problem that perpetuates this issue, beyond just people that simply deny it. Because somehow there are these studies that they also point to and say "see? Science says otherwise" and that's just annoying and hard to unravel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51