You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Yoga and Me - Health & Longevity

in #life7 years ago

Thank you very much for sharing your story with us! I would love to start doing Yoga, too as I meditate for over 10 years now and I benefit so much from it that words can not describe it :) I heard that you shouldn't start practising Yoga without an expert as you can do a lot of things wrong and get hurt, which scared me a bit hahaha :D Is that true? Or would you say I can just start and get healthier? :) I really love you use Steemit as a help to stay motivated and share your process with us! I am sure you'll feel amazing!
Best wishes and Namasté <3

Sort:  

Thank you for your excellent comments and question!

It's okay to just do yoga without an instructor. There are many good books on the subject as well as some good instructional videos.

Of course not all instructional videos will be very good, but not all real live yoga teachers will be very good either.

I prefer yoga that includes the spiritual aspect.

To me, if it doesn't include an obvious relationship to growing spiritually them it just isn't really yoga.

E.g. if I saw (and I'm just inventing a title here) a DVD entitled something like "Buns Of Steel Yoga", I would probably think it was just some kinda synthetic crap designed to sell DVD's.

You wanna begin yoga? Then begin just begin it. Just be gentle with yourself.

One part you should be careful with is specialized breathing, called pranayama. That one should from learned someone who is trained because practicing certain types of pranayama incorrectly can be potentially harmful.

Namasté dear @as-i-see-it! :)

Thank you from all my heart for your detailed and loevly answer!! Your words made me smile and very grateful :) I am very happy I can start doing yoga by myself. I'll look for a good instructor who can teach me pranayama <3

I can imagine how many DVDs and Videos exist out there which are only made for profit reasons :(
To me, yoga has to be connected to spirituality, too! Yoga is an active meditation and you let the divine flow through your body and soul. I could not imagine doing just some movements without feeling the vibes and love of yoga! I really appreciate your answer and help! Thank you very much!! :)

You and your yoga journey are very inspiring to me :) <3

Big hug,

Linda

Wow this is really such a GREAT reply! Thank you so much.
It's very wonderful to know that you have gained from our interaction.

I really like the way you said, "Yoga is an active meditation and you let the divine flow through your body and soul." Well said and Beautiful! :-)

Thank you so very much for such excellent remarks. You also inspire me! :-)

~ Namasté ~

Aaaaw thank you SO much for all these nice words!! :) Made my day, dear @as-i-see-it :) I am very happy to be connected to such an inspiring soul :)

Namasté and a lot of good vibes to you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62571.47
ETH 2429.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66