What I Learned From Quitting Smoking

in #life6 years ago

PicsArt_05-04-11.09.20.jpg

I used to smoke cogarettes on a daily basis since I was a teenager. Though I was not a chain smoker but after all it was a bad habit and somehow I wanted to get rid off it. Every now and then I toyed with the idea of quitting, but I never made an attempt at giving it up.

I used to smoke for no particular reason other than having fun with friends. But slowly, the habit developed and I became a full time a pack a day smoker.


A month ago I gave up smoking. And here’s the backstory, how I did it, and what I noticed since making the change.

Smoking had been my constant companion since I was a teenager. At home, in school, at the university. I was hooked on the stuff early on, partly because my school friends used to smoke.

In high school, we had a cigarerette. machines whenever we had a chance to do so. During my college days, I regularly smoked, but it was during my internship with a daily newspaper that I increased my consumption even more. My body and mind began to demand more and more nicotine, and I was very generous to supply. This continued for quite a long time. In this time, the effects of smoking became quite visible. The rosy lips turned dark accompanied by many other physical changes, but still I didn't give up smoking.

A year ago, one day I felt acute toothache😥. The next day I straight drove to hospital to see a dentist. After examining my teeth, the dentist advised me the dental filling. The lady assisting the doctor and supposed to do the filling was acquinted to me and always held me in high esteem. She guided me to the next room and I ascended the dental chair. As she began her job, she surprisingly asked me if I was smoking? I replied negative, but she didn't accede. I asked her how she got to know that I was smoking. "You have smoke stain on your teeth", she replied. I was embarrassed. And it was then I decided to give up smoking.
I introduced a bunch of changes to my life and built several habits. In the course of time, I restricted myself to two cigarettes a day. And that was surely a retrain. But giving up smoking completely was seemingly an uphill task as it is always difficult to do away with a developed habit.

A month ago I was reading a success story. The writer explained how stepping out of one’s comfort zone can bring a positive change in ones life. I decided I could do that: I could make myself a little uncomfortable and stop smoking. For the sake of a higher goal, one further down the path of my life, living healthy and avoiding consuming stuff that might not be good for me.

Thus, while reading the story I lit a cigarette that stood beside my notebook on the table and puffed it lightly knowing that this would be my last one. Since then I hadn't had a cigarette. I am feeling positive, positive about the ambitions and life. And that is one of the biggest changes that I witnessed since I quit smoking. I Learned that life is to live, not to waste in smoke.Live life to fullest. Say yes to life, no yo smoking!

Sort:  

Nothing is impossible. Even the word impossible says i m possible! Nice one. like it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Emm Gee Ahmad from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60991.61
ETH 2921.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56