Thinking about our roots

in #life6 years ago

Many times we mention our roots. What are they at all? The heritage of our ancestors? Or are the roots what is written in ourselves, no matter what our ancestors did? Where are our roots? Are we moved with roots and now our roots are here - and exactly the same as they were before 2000 years ago? Are the roots something permanent, something that never changes? No modification, no mutations? Are roots (perhaps a hereditary record) always the same or are they affected by the environment, weather conditions and soil fertility?

So, what are the roots here? At the end of the stay or the source of an individual?

20180918_165819.jpg

Spending some precious moments with my family got me thinking all those questions. How far back can we find out about our relatives, was the main thing... My grandma made a Tree of life, for her side of the family while she was still alive. I was young when she did it, and I wasn't so interested in this. But now, when I'm a bit older, and most of my close family lives abroad I sometimes feel I'm empty. The fact, that I forgot how to act with them just because of my way of life. Maybe I just don't know how to keep a proper relationship with them. When we are together, I talk with them about not relevant things, but when they leave, I realize I simply don't know to listen to their stories... Being a talkative person is a good thing, but being the listener is a smart thing. Maybe someday, I will learn how to simply shut up, and just listen.

Each of us contains many things, many things have affected us, both from the outside and from the inside. It depends on us what we do with this. Will we preserve what is beautiful? I really want to!

Sort:  

I think those thoughts time to time capturing the minds of every of us, on other side nowadays luckily we can find much more about our ancestors. That was quite funny, when we moved from Germany to Scotland and in my son's school in primary school when they learnt about Scottish clans, they could give their names and see if their names somehow belong to one of the clans. There were few Scottish kids whose names have not been found in the register, but when our son gave his name it appeared as recognized the ending of course was slightly different but nevertheless, officially the name was in Register. So we had a laugh.

With getting older we often think about who we are and appreciate the family more then before. Once we have our family members I try to spend much time with them and just tell them how much I appreciate and love them, life is so short and we just do not have much time for our family and friends while busy with our routines.

Thank you for your thoughtful post and it was a nice reminder for everyone to use the time for our family and close people.

What an interesting story! I really loved it. I agree with you. Life is really too short for arguing and bickering with our loved ones.

I wish you a lovely rest of the day and time with your family.

I am glad you like it.

Family is important and definitely keeps you grounded so its hard living apart from them... I know how that feels.

I think we don't realize that until we are parted with them. Luckily the modern technology brings us closer despite long distances between us.

It is interesting now with things like Steemit those in the future will have an easier time finding out about us.

Exactly-it will be easier. Even if I don't want to share too much personal information I love reading stories of others.

Even though I am surprised how people here on Steemit share photos of their kids. It is still a public site, without the option to delete a content...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65