Where do we belong ?

in #life7 years ago

ema.jpg

Hello everyone.

A number of years ago, long time before the word 'Brexit' was created and added to the dictionary, I met an older taxi driver in Halifax. I still remember our discussion. He managed to tell me briefly his life story during our short drive to the local train station. He said he was born abroad and when he was a young boy he was brought to England to work. Apparently so many men died during the World War II that Great Britain needed workforce from the overseas. The man met and married his wife in England and all his children and grandchildren were born there as well. His voice broke at one point and I thought he was going to cry.. He said he was very upset that some people called him a foreigner and wanted to send him 'home'. 'Where is my home then? '-he said- 'I thought I belonged here... I spent nearly all my life here.. I don't even remember my birthplace, nor people living there .'
I was touched by this story and I felt sorry that at the end of his life he found himself homeless..
Recently I have realized that this problem is shared by many young people at the moment, including myself.

I grew up in a society with a traditional model - people often lived in one place or even one house for most of their lives. They belonged to their place, their local community, to their family. I left my hometown when I was 19. Over the last 10 years I have moved at least 7 times(I have to admit I find it hard to remember all the addresses!). What I observed in all places was massive rotation of neighbors , so I know I am not the only one who can not sit long in one place. We all move a lot these days...
Sometimes, I wonder what price we pay for the freedom of geographical movement ? Obviously, at the beginning many people experience cultural shock or loneliness, but the nature of the problems changes over time. Many of us, like a taxi driver loose connection with the place of birth, places we grew up in, but can not fully settle up and identify with the new 'home'.
I don't know the answer today where I would like to live in future.. I can only hope that the world will not change dramatically and we will still have a choice to stay, move, go back whatever we decide is best for us..

Thanks,

@emiliatea

Sort:  

No i co... gdzie nastepne posty? Czekamy na wiecej ? Haloo?

great story @emiliatea... keep on writing !!

zapewne wspaniała :-)

I don't think that a place should define us or that we belong only in one place. We are fortunate to have that " freedom of geographical movement" and I feel that my nomadic tendency only enriches my life's experience

love the way you write I will follow for more :)

Congratulations @emiliatea! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @emiliatea! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40