THIS THING "Death" Our common Denominator.

in #life6 years ago

Once it is appointed to a man to die after which judgement! HEB 9:27.
images (8).jpg
Recently, my mum passed on to glory and I thank God for the life she lived.
No matter how much you anticipate the death of a loved one, it will never take away the pains that often follow.

A common practice with some pastors in many churches at the beginning of a new month/year is to make such declarations as "you will not bury any family member; no one is permitted to die in your family...." and the congregation will answer with a resounding "Amen." But alas, not long after, these same ministers are attending the funeral of some of these same members. Don't get me wrong, I believe in prophetic utterances as revealed in the scriptures, but there is a difference between that and mere "declarations." Christ Jesus indeed promised long life to those who truly believe in him. Yes. In Psalm 91 vs 16 we read "with long life will I satisfy him(and her)..." [emphasis mine]. Some would contest what "long life" entails. This is not the forum for that. Another day, maybe

We love to claim that the blessings of Abraham are mine and rightly so, but among the promises that God gave to our patriarch Abraham is "...and you will die in good old age." Genesis 15;15 yet we are often scared to talk about death. Death to the believer is a transition, not a destination.

As ministers (and brethren in general) we owe it to our loved ones and especially our aged parents to prepare them for transition and not simply assume that they will enter into the rest that is in Christ after death. this way, they and us will look forward to each day with some anticipation and joy rather than fear and uncertainties. When a man has lived well, death becomes a good thing...." almost everything — all external expectations, all pride, all fear of embarrassment or failure — these things just fall away in the face of death, leaving only what is truly important. Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose."1
I recall years back while a youth pastor on campus a dear fellow pastor and close friend's mum was ill and hospitalized so we would often pray for her in our prayer meetings. one evening as we gathered and began to pray for her, I felt a nudge in my spirit to tell Tira to brace up for her mum's demise. Like every young believer, I bucked afraid I would be 'breaking the unity of agreement in prayers that was going on yet I knew this was not my own thoughts. rather than inform anyone, I prayed for her silently for comfort and courage in the face of gloom and aches that is to come. eventually, though days after I wrote her a letter detailing what I had 'received' of the Lord. Just before her mum passed she thanked me for the word for as she took time to minister the word of God to her mum, she (found out from her mum) how much bitterness and resentment she had carried for the wrong deeds her husband(Tira's dad) did to her years ago. Thank God she forgave him and made peace with her God before death eventually came not long after.
"No one wants to die. Even people who want to go to heaven don’t want to die to get there. And yet death is the destination we all share. No one has ever escaped it. ("except Enoch, Elijah & Jesus Christ"). [Emphasis mine. ] And that is as it should be because Death is very likely the single best invention of Life. It is Life’s change agent. It clears out the old to make way for the new. Right now the new is you, but someday not too long from now, you will gradually become the old and be cleared away. If you live each day as if it was your last, someday you’ll most certainly be right. "2
FB_IMG_1533554954273.jpg
Like Steve jobs, each of us should ask ourselves "If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?” And whenever the answer has been “No” for too many days in a row, we should know somethings need to change.
As soon as our parents approach their 'life expectancy' which more often than not, is dependent on geographical location and livelihood and faith, it is advisable to plan and start a study on life after death and let them ask all the questions that they may have. and then all the food and drink (and tears of course) that usually follow their passing will be worth the expenses and serve as a prelude to the day of rejoicing we too if Christ tarries would appear before our Great God and father of all, the author and finisher of our faith.
FB_IMG_1533554946713.jpg
postscript; while she didn't birth me, lady Bessy no less is my Mother, for she literally 'adopted' me after my teenage mum had me. what is a mother anyway but someone who cares about you, teaches you how to behave and makes you feel safe. She was and is these and more to me.
FB_IMG_1533554961423.jpg.

Posted for my Friend.

Still Elisedaniels...Love for the Gospel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65