It's not always what it seems

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Life in social media can be a bit deceiving. Especially Instagram is just a way to show everyone how wonderful and exquisite your life is and this some times has nothing to do with reality.

FullSizeRender.jpg

A picture can be very glowy and perfect when in fact the moment it depicts is a total failure for you, with no meaning at all. Here you can see a picture of me being a happy skier who is about to enjoy the ski slopes when in fact I am totally incapable of skiing and my first attempt was a major disaster. However I have a beautiful shot of myself posing with my flashy equipment on, some minutes before throwing everything away and grabbing a cup of coffee to settle down at the cafe.

Girls are taking shots of their #food #enjoying their #brunch on a #sunny #sundayfunday and I doubt that all these crap are so much enjoyed and appreciated in the end. I find the whole thing so hollow for both sides. The ones who post the photos and the other ones who actually care about all those strangers that “have fun”.

IMG_4463.JPG

A picture can surely worth a thousand words but it can also hide a thousand more.

FullSizedRender.jpg

(This is a shot from many many years ago with my immature family and friends)

Sort:  

Hey Elia,

First of all I would really like to appreciate your concern. There are very few people who think like that. Yes, that's true Instagram and all these social media platforms has done very bad to our lives and we have become more materlistic. We always want to show the fancy and good things. Someone is showing his expensive watch, other is putting pictures from his world tour, one is uploading the photos of food they had at luxury hotel and while others are flaunting their private jets journey. We will have to admit, this is the reality.

This is what we all want to see. No one wants to see me sitting on an ugly place and having very low budget food because we all have that and we all admire that what we don't have.So when we see expensive and things which are larger than our lives it gives us hope and makes us happy. This is the reason everyone is uploading that kind of stuff.

We can do any experiment on steemit if you want? l am sure it would be fun. Like not uploading the fancy things but the simple random things. What you say?

Hello,

You made some really interesting points there! Its true that we want to see the beautiful side of life but does this really makes us happy at the end of the day? Or just miserable as we cannot afford what others do?

Instagram has been formed in a more advertising way and that's what Im not ok with. People are being payed to show expensive stuff that didn't even pay themselves. And Im supposed to like those and go buy them. Well advertisements do the exact same thing in a more "honest" way...

When it comes to photos from all over the world and landscape photography sure I want to see something nice with good aesthetic. But that has nothing to do with the "selling" approach.

What I want to say is that Im sick and tired of the materialistic side of it. The whole show off thing has become massive and life is not about buying and accumulating. I don't even care about what others eat :P

Sure it would be interesting to see if posting the simple are random things would have the same response -even though I think it wouldn't.. The key I think is to be honest with ourselves and the people we want to share moments with. 'Cause overdoing may bring the opposite results :)

I know what you mean. I admit to blatantly using a photo to try and convince naive steemians that I had singleness of vision. Shame on me!

SingularViewpointIMG_0506.JPG

hahahah (oh don't you?? :P )

I do not understand what you did not like. Good photo. Beautiful, bold girl;)

Thank you for your kind words! :))

you need to take a photo with a parachute yet;)

hahah good idea :P

social media generally have nothing to do with reality

I think you are right.. :/

i will agree with you. i have instagram for one reason and it' s just how i find
interesting places in my country or somewhere outside to visit, something that i can't find googling xD i post the same 'cause that's how i see fb, instagram and not for counting likes

Ah thats an interesting use of Instagram! I agree with you :)

What do you mean? All those influencers are not a real thing?? 😯

Erm... I don't mean to upset you but probably not.. :P

Are there still people who care about that stuff?
I mean really?Posting a pic wanting to express something is one thing but showing off...my new jeans or my new glasses
I think in the end no one will give a f@&€k

Sure there are.. Instagram's impact has become massive and in my opinion its all about showing off.. I see no meaning at all but many do.. :/

Και που εισαι ακομα.. :)

Α.. Πανέμορφα!! :P

That's why i don't have Instagram, and my twitter is mainly to follow cryptos and important ppl in the science field because Instagram models are all a lie...

Well the way you use twitter is useful whereas following all these influencers "helps" nowhere..

the real question is do you still use Instagram? :P

I guess thats the most to the point question indeed :P Im using it for work (Jesus) purposes only and Im sick of it!

then you are excused :P

Don't let the truth get in the way of a great (intagram) story ...

hahah nice one! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64407.71
ETH 3414.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62