Chase Hygge moments

in #life6 years ago (edited)

b613150edecf7c679bb52cff78805357.jpg
photo

Hygge (Hue-guh) is a Danish word used when acknowledging a moment as cosy. Danes had to deal with boredom, cold and dark and they came up with this term. It's all about creating special moments and living in the present.

Without knowing that I embrace the hygge concept, I try to give a special note even to the most minor activities. For instance I follow a morning routine that makes me wake up with a smile. I make my coffee every single morning and I always choose a mug that makes me happy. I dedicate some minutes to enjoy my coffee in my couch and I just live for the moment. Just enjoying my view and the scent of my latte.

Another thing I love to do when I come back from work is to have a bath and wear my fluffy socks. I make myself a cup of tea, I light up some candles and I feel cosy and relaxed again after a hectic day.

Before going to sleep I spray a lavender spray to my pillow -its supposed to calm you down and help you sleep well, but I think it is a placebo- and I put some hand cream on. In general, beautiful scents make me very happy.

On Sundays I prefer to stay in bed for a bit more. I love to watch an episode or two of my favourite TV Series and then start my day. Its good to give yourself little “treats”, little moments of joy during the day, everyday.

"Rituals" like these -and many more- can add a little sparkle to your life. They can uplift your spirit and your mood. Cosy up your moments and enjoy every single one of them as much as you can.

Source

Sort:  

"Hygge" is a great word. I think people definitely need to learn to appreciate these moments, as they can be few and far between sometimes. I don't know if "chasing" is the right term -- but it gets the point across for sure. At the very least, I'll try to make an effort to slow down and appreciate one of these moments the next time I get one!

:) You are right.. These moments help us to move on more smoothly with life... Finding meaning in everyday is the key to happiness :)

Tv series in bed all the way!

I know!!! :)

Cosy indeed!! :)

what a cool place to chill, weirdly me and @dayleeo just started a new book about hygge! :)

Really?? Thats cool I would love to read it!! :))

yeah follow her and you will see the other stuff we did, we are going through all those style of books this year, @dayleeo reads to me, it's stupid cute! :)

As Dan Buetner who is a researcher on the area of longevity and happiness explained: "The happiest cohort of people in the entire world are Danish people because ambition is not so high and their needs are taken care of and they are free to pursue their passion." ... and I can add: "Also because they are aware of Hygge moments! Happiness is hidden in small acts of being kind to yourself and the loved ones."

Exactly!! Thats the meaning of life! :) Thank you for stopping by :))

Joyful stop ... or should I say: it was a little intellectual Hygge moment :)

:)) Thank you!! :))

Great post @eliakon! :) We have the same thing in Norway, but we can it "Kos"or koselig. It's so important to me to have some hygge every day, like lightning candles. My boyfriend is Portuguese and he is finding my hygge obsession kind of funny, heheh!

Thank you very much!! :)) And nice to find you!! Btw Norway is the next country I want to visit!! :)
Kos? Thank you for the information I didn't know about it! :)
Im sure your boyfriend will get used to the hygge obsession and he will love it as well! ;)
(Thank you so much for resteeming <3 )

oloklires ierotelesties :P alla opos eipes ta mikra pragmata kanoun thn mera kaliterh!

Εμ, έτσι είναι!! ;)

Wraio artho.. kalimera.. alla pou xronos... ola sto treksimo ginonte..

Καλημέρα και ευχαριστώ πολύ!!
Ίσως θα πρεπε να κόψουμε λίγο ταχύτητα και να ευχαριστηθούμε λίγο περισσότερο τη ζωή μας... :)

I love the hygge concept! I didn't know that I'm hygge-ing, but I do it everyday :))
And of course music plays a significant role to these moments (I saw this post through the link on your post about music 😊)
Great rituals you have!

You see?? we are all hygge-ing in a way :) It's what improves the quality of our everyday life :)
Thank you so much!! :))

Thank you for bringing the hygge concept into light! I should visit Denmark soon for some original cosy hygge moments!! :))

Haha :) If you do, let me know more about the original ones :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66709.93
ETH 3505.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71