My grandfather's fig tree

in #life6 years ago

Today I want to talk about a tree that is particularly dear to me.

My grandfather's fig tree.

In the ancient tradition, the fig tree has a meaning of immortality and abundance. Tree and sacred fruit is the emblem of life, light, strength, and knowledge. In ancient Greece, it was the sacred tree of the goddess Athena.

2018-08-12 1.jpg

2018-08-12 2.jpg

Many years ago (1948), my parents had emigrated to Canada, and after a few years, they decided to build a house in Castelfranco, Italy, close to where they had lived their youth years.
Then my parents asked my grandfather to find a good place to build a house in the city and to supervise the work as long as they stayed in Canada. So my grandfather did, and when the construction of the house was finished, my grandfather (who at the time was a farmer in a village near Castelfranco) decided to plant a fig tree in the backyard because it was an emblem of life and immortality.
That fig tree was very badly damaged during a severe storm but fortunately at his side was already growing another small fig tree. That tree is still bearing fruit. I never met my grandfather because when we came to Italy I had just finished the eighth grade in Canada, and my grandfather was not here anymore. It makes me happy to eat the fruits of my grandfather's work, and I think he is happy too, I feel his presence every time I take a fig from the tree.

2018-08-12 3.jpg

thanks for reading, hope to hear from you.

Sort:  

WARNING - The message you received from @minzir123 is a CONFIRMED SCAM!
DO NOT FOLLOW any instruction and DO NOT CLICK on any link in the comment! ATTENTION WILL ALSO REPLY TO YOUR FRIENDS AND TALKS AS YOU WERE LIKE AND NO EU CLOSE AND CLICK TO @ MINZIR123 POSTS. all the best so can get rid of people who want to steal money from your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46