Perspective

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I have never written anything more than a few essays in highschool and some personal journaling but I'd like to start writing things here and there about what interests me, and what's important to me!

So i'm starting my first post off with the best thing a person could have, my dog! His name is Leroy and yes, he's adorable but he isn't just a cute face. I was recently living out of the Province for about 7 months and that's the longest i've ever been away from him but I think I learned a lot in my time away from him. It was honestly tough but there is a quote that fits perfectly with the situation;

"You don't know what you've got until it's gone."

That really hits home on this one. It makes you think a lot about your perspective on things, I remember before I left home I would be getting frustrated with Leroy everyday for little things I thought really mattered but after months of being away from him I would miss them. Whether it be his snoring, or smelly breath I was even left feeling like something was missing whenever the doorbell would ring and there wasn't this wanna be tough guy running towards the door barking.

I think there is a lot to learn from this, not just that you will miss your dog after half a year of being away from them but that you need to take the time and really appreciate things in your life. Even if you don't have a lot just be thankful for what you do have, you always have someone who loves you, even if it's just your dog! They are the most pure creatures, they love to love and it's inspiring.

2017-06-06 08.42.38 1.jpg

I guess I should introduce myself as well! I'm Electa, I'm 18 and currently on my gap year. It's coming to an end and I haven't accomplished a lot of the things I wanted to do but i'm going to do my best to pull through in 2018 and do the things i've aspired to do. A big goal of mine of to create more! I hope you enjoy the things I have to say and I'm sure my posts will get better as time goes by, so stick around!

Thanks for taking the time to read this, I hope you enjoyed and have a great day my friends!

Sort:  

It's heartbreaking that you don't have a mother that loves you! This is a great first post though, so don't short-change yourself. And don't worry...forget about the past, keep moving forward and you'll get to where you want to be.

Keep the posts coming so we can see more of your work! Maybe a little art or photography?

Congratulations @electa, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @electa! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @electa! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69662.55
ETH 3388.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77