Medicate, meditate, or something else: Here's my project of 1000 minutes of heart-brain coherence

in #life6 years ago

What am I doing?

Faced with an existential choice of medicate or meditate, I'm trying a self-healing project.


Join me in this 3-month journey inward of daily practice and recording of my heart-brain coherence as measured by the HeartMath emWave.

Why am I doing this?

Like most people, most of the time I’m “in my head.” You kinda need to be “in your head” to function in this world.


I’m also kind of a needy and angry guy. Also normal, eh? Comes from personal, family, cultural and intergenerational trauma.


So I'm a neurotic person with issues but able to function, grew up with chaos and substance abuse, etc. but basically oriented to goodness, muddling along to enlightenment in another 500 years, maybe.

Somewhere along the way I became a chronic marijuana user, meaning, “toking during waking hours.”

So I'm not super happy about that but it's not an emergency. Still I wonder if I could shift that whole pattern…?
Is “getting in touch with your heart” really a thing?

I think it’s a thing and I’m gonna tell you about it in my own experience. I’m also going to present the scientific side of it, meaning, I will be presenting some of the specific research published by HeartMath to see if it makes sense.

An invitation

I hope you join me with your own practice whatever that may be. Comment here and share your progress, questions, quibbles and quotations.

See you soon!

https://d.tube/#!/v/elderchild/6ftohld1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51