Skinny Mints - when to get real with your body

in #life8 years ago

Skinny mints, detox diets with real results, bag the muffin top and transform yourself in 28 days!
The number of lifestyle solutions there are in this world are as many as the sands in the sea.

Pictures of before and after taken in the same polka dot costume, only there is always a hair colour change. Seems like a new body definitely deserves a new hairdo.

I am not writing from the before photo and I am not writing from the after photo. I am in no man’s land – should I considering doing anything or not?

I grew up very sporty, and I have good genes – so my mom said, but in my twenties I took on a different approach to living. I chose to party instead of exercise and ate as I pleased.
I settled down in my early thirties and had two children, but did not make time to make restore my body.
After bearing two children and having an ‘I am invincible’ attitude, I am left with distant muscle memory and those good genes are not so pronounced anymore.

I am wise not to compare myself to my younger sister. A mother of six who watches what she eats, runs a daily gym routine between dropping and picking up kids, and fulfilling all her community responsibilities. Slim and fresh she is the painted picture of superwoman.

So it can be done.

But really, must I?

I scroll down my Facebook feed and (I have only myself to blame for liking all the health and lifestyle pages) my eyes repeatedly scan, makeovers, low calorie recipes, fitness regimes and beachwear beauties. Not to mention the pomp and ceremony of the Kardashian page – yes I liked it.

Should I be looking like Kylie Jenner at 35?

I suck in my tummy while sitting at my desk and say, “I am not that bad.”

It does make me feel a little better.

Feeling good about yourself does have something to do with how you live and treat your body. And there is merit in keeping up with the Jones, but at what cost?

I am still working out whether I am going to step out of my comfort zone or not.

One thing I can say for certain is that my kids come first and that my body transformation – should I choose to go down that road – will fit around them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55