You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I left my home country

in #life6 years ago

It's unfortunate you had to leave your home country but also wonderful that nowadays we can. Hundreds or years ago, people wouldn't have that freedom of choice - let alone the option of jumping on airplane and going to another country. I hope you find happiness and acceptance wherever you end up. They will be lucky to have someone so open-minded.

Sort:  

Thank you @eitsky . I hope that freedom of movement will become a norm in the future and will be available for everyone, not just some of us. It's wonderful to be able to choose who is your family and where is home. :) The idea that we have to live in the place we were born in is as crazy as arranged marriage to me.

Not everyone has that option of course. And now the UK looks set to close its doors on free movement, and far right ideas on immigration are taking hold across the world to varying degrees, even to the extend of letting refugees drown in the med and criminalising those rescuing them. Future generations will find less opportunities to escape the plight they are born into as social mobility closes down.

Yes you're right. Some are more privileged than others. What's happening in the UK is bizarre but I can understand that people are uncomfortable with so many cultures coming and mixing together. It can almost seem like a threat to your very way of life.

I'm from Canada so I've grown up around multiple cultures. I'm open to the idea of immigration, especially with how large our country is. Though some are still closed off to the idea. Hopefully a solution can be found for the whole world sometime in the future.

I think that what we are seeing here is a massive discrepancy in views between generations. A shift back for the better is beginning, and it feels good to be a part of that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66433.10
ETH 3607.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69