Of humble beginnings and greater ends

in #life7 years ago (edited)
It is common knowledge that the little things we forget to do often times outdo us in the end. In community building, I have learnt one basic truth, which is never to leave a stone unturned and be thorough in all things.
It is better not to embark on a journey, than to do a half baked job.


the-fog-2364641_960_720.jpg



One of the first statements that usually comes out of people in a community, is a desire to get to the top, a never failing desire to succeed.
Success like all things not only comes at a price, but it requires protocols like al things given. Actually being successful and wanting to be successful are two different things, they require two different approach to things.
The difference between wanting to be successful and being successful anywhere rests in your ability to decipher a proper approach to success.


The beginning of greater things

rural-863355_960_720.jpg



I always wanted to be a great person when I grow up, nothing gave me more joy than attempting something even if it meant me failing.
I have never quit on any project or idea I got involved in because I always look inwards to confirm that whatever I am doing is within the limits of my ability and is aligned with my vision of a greater and happier world.


When I newly joined this platform, I had a clear plan in mind, achieve my goals and not get distracted by all the little distractions that might pop up. Some years ago, we went for a youth program and we had our enneagram personalities tested.
It was discovered that my main enneagram wing was a type 6 which was the traditionalist also called a loyalist, with the ability to switch between wings.


At first, I felt why a traditionalist/loyalist, why not a boss or something, it was when I did extra reading online outside the handbook given to me that I realized that I have been given a blessing, I was a born leader who liked following.
Below is a excerpt I munched online while reading more on my personality type.

image.png



The traditionalist has so many gifts, a boss doesn't listen and is scared of failure hence is limited in his scope, a traditionalist/loyalist is not limited, he/she treats failure like something to be conquered. For the greater part of my life, I have always known I was going to be a part of something great, I could not decipher what it was, but I always knew.


Be proud of who you are because you are the only original copy of yourself there is.



My journey on steemit has not been a smooth sailing one all through, contrary to what most people feel, we earned every vote, we had to chat, to interact, make a choice to either stay or leave due to poor post payouts, zero response in comments on posts and the worst part was @cheetah was super active.


There were times when if your post showed $0.50, you would be glued to your screen all day to see if it rises or not. Then a lot of the newbies would nag and a lot of people left.
@raymonjohnstone was the first person to ever warn me on the negative effects of plagiarism and there and then I realized this site was serious. Most people don't know that if this site was a scam, they will allow plagiarized articles, but the manner and vigor in which plagiarism is being fought shows the genuinety of the site.


My first post which earned me about $33 dollars saw me dancing, it was a post on quality vs quantity as far back as May and that was how I due to foreseeing a true need for quality. I could remember when I mentioned a first attempt at a suicide campaign, that plan still holds, I merely converted it into something better ( Steemit In Nigeria) which offers people a chance to be on the platform which changes lives.


When I created the start up, 360 Lead Ent, I asked some friends to join in the vision and a lot of them obliged. We had our fair share of ups and downs together but they stuck with the business knowing one day, with our preparedness, an opportunity was going to present itself that will change everything.


The long waited opportunity was steemit.com



Sadly a lot of people don't know that there is more to steemit than just blogging, steemit is a place where dreams are built. I always tell people that this is not a get rich quick scheme, it is a place where where you plan the future right now in the present...A place to build and invest in yourself and OTHERS!


When the @leadent360 account was created, it was done with a vision to change the world raising the flag of steemit high. Steemit has given us the edge we need to conquer failure, it is up to us to decide if we want to be left behind in this quest.
Failure is absolute in two cases:
- When you do not try.
- When you give up too soon.


There is no better place to build your vision than here. Build your brand, be yourself, target your dreams and if you have none, start dreaming.
Steemit might not be around forever, but the legacy you set using the steemit brand, will ensure the name lives on even longer than what we planned.


I read somewhere that people might forget your name, your talents or even what you do, but the world never forgets how you made it feel.
You don't have to copy someone else, you don't have to pretend to be who or what you are not, just be yourself, live life, dream big, make a difference and give people a chance to smile and remember that while some people were busy doubting the authenticity of this website, it made a difference in people's lives through you.
The difference is all that counts.


A path of greatness

curtain-2539992_960_720.jpg



Being a part of the community means you have to understand the flow of give and take that exists here, an endless cycle which remains endless if we practice the give and take policy.
The give and take refers to engagement in the community, engagement which involves reading, commenting and curating the works of your neighbor.


If you do it, your friends do, their friends do it, their friends friends do it, this platform will be great.
The mistake people often make on any platform is to lack a basic understanding of how the place works before even attempting drawing conclusions.


Everyone looks at the whales and say to themselves : "I want to be like that pretty soon" but then they forget that building that amount of steem power, the whales, commented a lot and got voted, curated a lot and received rewards, posted no matter the price of steem, and engaged in lots of community building activities.


To be different, you have to do something different.



Share your thoughts and comments...



Steem care edit.png

Steem care project is doing it again soon



The steem care team
We are all about putting a smile on the faces of the less privileged around us.
We are going to the charity home again, this time around to give out things like bags, books and some clothes. Thank you for kind words and support during the first outreach. As usual, this is a project sponsored by the team members from our earnings.


Remember to be at Steemit In Nigeria event

daniel's flyer copy.jpg



Images are from pixabay except the munched image, the steemcare image and the steemit in Nigeria image.



Remember to vote for your witnesses



I explained everything in simpler terms here
Witnesses basically are those who have volunteered to help keep this place up and running.
To vote for a witness, click here
Vote @ausbitbank, @steemgigs, @teamsteem and @xeldal for witness
If your witness is outside the top 50, here is how to vote using the search

Screenshot (349).png



Thanks to @elyaque for the badge and @son-of-satire for the generic footer



lion badge.png
generic.gif

Sort:  

My favorite quote is, "Madness is doing the same thing and expecting a different result." Being different is actually ok. I saw an instagram post where someone said being abnormal is the new normal. You may not agree with me till you found out that people like the MTV VJ Denrele achieved their fame/notoriety by refusing to be "normal". Though I am not advocating we all go the Denrele route because what works for Mr. X may be a disaster for Mr. Y, just follow the path that works for you.


Google Image: Denrele doing his thing

I learnt something new here, Enneagram of Personality, I would read further to find what my number is. We never stop learning until we are dead. Thanks boss

We never stop learning until we are dead.

to me failure is a closer step to success

For those who understand

thats true sha

Failure is absolute in two cases:

  • When you do not try.
  • When you give up too soon.

I needed this bro

There is no better place to build your vision than here. Build your brand, be yourself, target your dreams and if you have none, start dreaming.

Absolutely true

Thank you Thank you Thank you

My first post which earned me about $33 dollars saw me dancing, it was a post on quality vs quantity

Hahahaha...
This is good to know
Wow!!!
The first post that got me 32$
I remember it clearly... U were one of the curators self. See the way I was walking like one big boy that day... Lol content creator

Every newbie needs to see this.

Thanks for your words

For the greater part of my life, I have always known I was going to be a part of something great, I could not decipher what it was, but I always knew.

It is so great to know you found steemit, and it was a long awaited opportunity. Being a leader is not an easy task. But Its always worth it. Thank you for posting this.

Steemit came at the right time

Nice post boss....."indeed whatever is worth doing is worth doing very well to the very end".
Steem on boss.

Wow.. Well said ... Beginning is not always easy but when the going gets tough, it means a treasure is along the part ... This was really motivating @ehiboss ... Thanks a lot for sharing this to inspire and motivate people like me

You are welcome

This is motivating. Really touches me. The end is what matters

The end matters a lot

You're right. To get the Prize, you must first pay the price. Nice piece

We all have to pay our dues

Inspirational read....

looking forward to your future posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62938.49
ETH 2469.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62