Top 5-Amazing reasons why we procrastinate. And how to overcome them.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

images (23).jpg
Image Source

We all procrastinate. From the dawn of time, we have been carrying our burdens and troubles into our future (tomorrow).
In order to provide detailed and helpful information on this topic. I procrastinated in writing this article🙄. Even though I put it off a little longer than expected, it wasn't actually my fault it was for the sake of research😕😞.
The paragraph ahead, just gave a perfect reason why we procrastinate. The main reason we procrastinate is because we have a reason behind our actions/decisions of postponing their responsibilities.

What is procrastination?🙄🤔.

images (6).jpgImage Source

Procrastination may seem harmless, but on the other hand it's like a water stored in a basket.
  • It steals your time🤑.
  • It makes easy things hard and hard things harder🙇🙇.
  • It assasinates your opportunities🔫⚔️.

Why we procrastinate.

1. you are probably a perfectionist.

images (17).jpg
Image Source

Perfectionist have a habit of procrastinating, but unlike others who procrastinate to please themselves like sleeping, watching TV etc. Perfectionists tend to put things off, or delay completing simple/difficult task because they're worried of the rewards being less perfect.
advice: a complete imperfect task is better than an uncompleted task⚠️

2. You're probably scared of failing😵😨.

images (18).jpg
Image Source

It is tempting for even an individuals with a high self esteem to delay a task because of a fear of failing. Well it's true that you can't fail at something without attempting it. But unfortunate this is a very narrow and unproductive way of thinking. People who run from their fears miss the opportunities to acquire new knowledge and skill (experience).
Always face your fears as it will eventually help you overcome it.

3. You lack self control.

images (19).jpg
Image Source.

Self control varies from person to person. It becomes bad when when it comes into play negatively in your productivity. Procrastination is more common with people who don't have the discipline of completing tasks in time. E.g a smoker who wants to quit smoking can spend years taking "one last cigarette".

4. You're Seeing a task a big project😮🤔.

images (20).jpg
Image Source
images (21).jpg
Image Source

Honestly having the impression that you have a huge task to complete, is enough reason for you to shift the task for another day. To avoid this. Try breaking seemingly huge task into small doable/achievable ones.
5. You are just lazy😂😂.

images (22).jpg
Image Source
lazy_award.gif
Image Source

This is indeed the number one reason why we procrastinate. We just don't feel like doing it now. Well being lazy isn't always bad. Because "all work and no play makes jack a dull boy". It's okay to take a break and maybe catch some fun like watching TV etc. Rather than just working all day. But it becomes bad when this behaviour becomes a habit.

Please feel free to share with us the category of procrastinators you find yourself in😇😇.

Thanks For Reading🤝👍.
Join Steemit Upvotes a group where everyone gets support!!!
Follow @edywill to get psychological facts, motivations and crypto news.

unnamed.gif

Sort:  

Woff, woff!

Hello @edywill, Nice to meet you!

I'm a guide dog living in KR community. I can see that you want to contribute to KR community and communicate with other Korean Steemians. I really appreciate it and I'd be more than happy to help.

KR tag is used mainly by Koreans, but we give warm welcome to anyone who wish to use it. I'm here to give you some advice so that your post can be viewed by many more Koreans. I'm a guide dog after all and that's what I do!

Tips:

  • If you're not comfortable to write in Korean, I highly recommend you write your post in English rather than using Google Translate.
    Unfortunately, Google Translate is terrible at translating English into Korean. You may think you wrote in perfect Korean, but what KR Steemians read is gibberish. Sorry, even Koreans can't understand your post written in Google-Translated Korean.
  • So, here's what might happen afterward. Your Google-Translated post might be mistaken as a spam so that whales could downvote your post. Yikes! I hope that wouldn't happen to you.
  • If your post is not relevant to Korea, not even vaguely, but you still use KR tag, Whales could think it as a spam and downvote your post. Double yikes!
  • If your post is somebody else's work(that is, plagiarism), then you'll definitely get downvotes.
  • If you keep abusing tags, you may be considered as a spammer. It may result to put you into the blacklist. Oops!

I sincerely hope that you enjoy Steemit without getting downvotes. Because Steemit is a wonderful place. See? Korean Steemians are kind enough to raise a guide dog(that's me) to help you!

Woff, woff! 🐶

kr-guide!

I still believe some of the reasons are personal and also your first paragraph got me but all the same nice post

Thanks @newzland for commenting😇👍.

lol, i can be really lazy sometimes

😂😂😂 Fun isn't it. But we just gotta put it in our control😎

You nailed it bro... I just got myself freed from that disease called procrastination...

Great @burlarj🤝. I'm happy for you😇.

I think I belong to all the categories. Lol.. Though steemit is on the verge of giving me a cure. Thank you for sharing.

LOL... I hope you recover fully😂😂😂. Thanks @aliyu-s for commenting😇.

Amen. Thanks! ✌🏽

U're welcome👍.

I typically procrastinate when I feel overwhelmed by a task or when there is so much to do that I WANT to be doing but I don't know what to do first or where to start, and I can't seem to focus and concentrate. I was actually tapping about that today in my therapy session, to work on being able to focus that energy when needed.

I am terrible about procrastinating....usually regarding posts #1 and #2 in your post. I don't like to DO something until I have thoroughly planned it and made it perfect. That, or I'm just too scared it's going to fail. I am not allowing myself to do that with SteemIt. Just got my account activated today and I'm diving right in!!

WOW!!! Let me start by welcoming you into this wonderful community🤝. You just joined today and your reputation about 31 this is incredible😮. I'm not a soothsayer but I'm certain that you'll become a whale (top steemian)very soon if you continue with the good works😇.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59989.12
ETH 2380.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49