Life is not a competition, neither should it be taken as one.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Why compare yourself with others?

arm-wrestling.jpg
At some point in our journey of life, life became a competition. If you weren't developed at middle school, you were made fun of. If you weren't into trend, you got strange looks. If you didn't take part in college cultures, people think you're strange or even abnormal.

People have always compared my life with theirs, and others. But my personality, mentality, perspective, goals, dreams wasn't in any way like that of others. I wasn't, and I'm not the person who loves partying. Cause all I ever thought of was studies and future strategies. I wasn't humorous like my friends, so
I believed I was unlovable. These destructive thoughts caused me moments of self hate for, what I'm realising now was for, no reason at all.


I've wasted some precious moments of my life, hating my personality. Moments that were supposed to be spent cultivating my inner fire, were spent quenching it, because I couldn't keep up with my competition. To be sincere, I still can't keep up with the competitions, but I don't care anymore.

Some guys I went to highschool with, are already making serious advancements with their vocational skills, but here I am in collage. Others are making it illegally, online and offline, but I choose to do what they call a myth, i.e Blog on steemit. Others are buying the best gadgets, laptops and phones I could only dream to own. Should I feel bad that I don't?

I once heard that if you don't have a girlfriend by age 18, then you're screwed. Yikes. I'm not 18 yet, but I guess I'll have to get one before my 18th year birthday finally arrives (23rd, Feb), so I can prove to my friends that I'm a real dude. How flawed is that line of thinking. So many live their lives for the approval of others and it's sickening.

I'm done comparing and feeling inferior, because I'm too busy working on my own grass to know if yours is greener. Who told you I needed a girlfriend? Who told you I don't have my own goals? Who told you I can't make it legally online? Because “steemit” have made it possible. We are not any better than any one, because we tackle life from different angles. Life is beautiful because we are all different, and I am finally happy with accepting that.

Sort:  

It is becoming test of power @kabirlec9

Forge your own path, dont compare yourself with others, you can't please everybody.. these are the things i learned as i grew older in life. remember that we are all different, so dont ever succumb to peer pressure my friend and do your own thing.. this is your life and no one has the right to dictate what you should do with it! :)

Exactly☺️. Thanks sir @andywong31 for the point. I've noted it down, and I'll always take it to heart👍.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

The problem begins in school and in the media where we are taught and programmed to compare ourselves to others. Instead of working to cooperate with others, like in some sports, we receive our marks in school alongside the average. Who is above the average who is below it. Not looking at, this person is below here because they are less academic and more creative, that person is good at sports. Everyone is unique and has their forte. We are taught to compare ourselves starting at a young age. When we grow up, we become envious of others, have low self-esteem, feelings of unworthiness, which I myself am struggling with. Why don't I have the same recognition she does, my content is just as good. How did he get so famous so quickly. People are praised for their success while success is not clearly defined and it teaches children to put themselves down. Then they become angry with others who succeed in the eyes of those who define success. Where success should be subjective and all small progress should be congratulated, children are taught that being below the mark is to fail. Some people become very competitive, other fearful.

This is why I appreciate Steemit a lot because everyone has respect for everyone. Post something on Facebook and watch how people compete: they compete to have the funnier comebacks, to be more upset than someone else about what you said, to have said the nicest thing back to you, to have had a worse experience than you, to have accomplished something better than you. Whereas here, I feel we are all humans and not competing bots.

Definitely. But all thanks to steemit, where creators and curators come in accord. Where the creation of one Is the curation of the other, and the curation of the other is not a competition of sort. Where ones gain is not another's pain. Unlike in the physical world, where one man's laugh is another man's cry. Where you'll see Companies competing with each other, men fighting and even killing for positions etc. I'm very certain that steemit is all I've been looking for all these while, my finding steemit was like finding a heaven so field with contents.

Yes, Steemit does feel like a safe Haven for us content creators :)

Indeed life is not a competition but it is a race against time. If you try to compete against some one who is already going good then you are going to lose. Compete against time. Try to manage it.

And no there is nothing wrong in not having a girl friend at the age of 18. It is better to not have girlfriend. Since this would put in a spot where might have to make radical changes in your life.

Saw this on resteeem and liked it so I UV resteemed you.

Make your life worth living by following your passion!

It may not be a competition but as John Cena says, Never Give Up!

That and You can't see me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64233.18
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54