You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Tiny Homes Really All That Feasible?

in #life7 years ago

Ive looked into tiny homes too, but being 6'4", it really wasn't feasible. Living off the grid has its ups and downs. If you like to people watch, need access regularly to doctors, and enjoy having utilities, a little house may be something more for long weekends to get outta town. There really is no upside if you enjoy the comforts of home and utilities. :)

Sort:  

Yeah I was more interested in the cost because an actual home is so far out of my range. But I do need all those comforts. There are tiny home communities so I am looking into that but maybe if I save up like $50,000 I can just rent a small studio apt for a few years and use that time to get on my feet more.

I wasnt aware of all the regulations when I initially got interested.

Also that is funny to picture hehe. 6'4" in a tiny home.

Thanks. A little fun a couple months ago with the PicsArt app.

Yah a little house really isnt a good idea. Id just end up with a fridge full of cold packs smacking every toe and appendage off of something.

I am not so much deterred by the space as living far away from a city. Some of them are less tiny than that ones I pictured. :)

Yes they vary in size from a shoe box to a shipping container. The one I was looking at was more of small cabin with a loft, something to throw in the woods on a friends property to camp out in summer time. There would have been no utilities at all, but a gas generator and a solar panel is all you really need if you're really looking to rough it. But in my mind, it really wasnt going to be a place to live, more of something to sleep in vs a tent lol

hahahahaha shoe box vs shipping container. You are too much. XD

Yeah perfect for camping for sure. :) I would be open to roughing it if not for all my medical needs. Maybe...I also realized I wont have any room for my books. I need to just keep saving and maybe find a cheap 1 bedroom, can live mostly in the living room and have all my books and reading book in the bedroom. :D That is more my speed. I just am super poor and was hoping to find a solution to that with tiny homes but as you said...you really have to rough it. Not that practical. I still plan to learn more about them because I find them interesting.

Well books are easy to consolidate on an ipad! They may be small, but once you factor in the property, the amenities, and building the damn thing, you're better off renting. This is the video that peaked my interest. Im a closet prepper, so the thought of going off the grid is all well and good till you need antibiotics!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62284.56
ETH 2424.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58