I sold my car to live in a van. Part One

in #life7 years ago

In 2008, I owned a house.

My house was fully furnished and filled with more stuff than I really needed: seasonal decorations, two chest freezers, two TVs - both with surround sound - and kitchen electronics that only serve one purpose.

I also had a boatload of tools and equipment to maintain both properties, including things for aesthetic maintenance: garden hoses, lawn sprinklers, flower pots, paint cans - just random stuff.

Fast forward to 2015. The only possessions I had left fit into my van and a 4' x 5' x 7' corner in my friend's garage.

I have never had less stuff and been more happy.

While living out of a backpack in Thailand for 3.5 months in 2015, I met my current girlfriend, a Spanish citizen. Since then, I've grown quite fond of her and am currently living in Spain.

vanlife-storejpg.jpg
By David Sandel

As with living in a van or out of a backpack, the minimalist lifestyle has been advantageous because I've been able to move all the stuff I really need to Spain in just two checked bags and two carry-ons.

This includes essentials like clothing, my computer, camera gear, and backpacking and rock climbing gear (pretty much my entire online business).

My girlfriend and I share beliefs about not owning stuff. Because we both work remotely, we can easily pack our suitcases and head back to my van in the U.S. - or anywhere else in the world for that matter.

For a while, we were living in a small flat in Madrid with two other roommates. Then, we moved to a pretty large house all to ourselves four hours north of the city.

And now we're learning how difficult it is not to acquire stuff, even with both of us intentionally trying to live more simply.

By David Sandel

Sort:  

I admire your minimalist lifestyle and you passion for the world. Enjoyed your post

Likely a fellow Mr. Money Mustache congrats on your minimalist lifestyle.

You don't need that much to be truly happy!
Great stuff, OP!

Simplicity is the best way of life

Incredible

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57034.02
ETH 3084.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41