Eye Health! Protect yourself this Eclipse! Tips for damaged eyes.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Chances are, you have heard about the upcoming eclipse this Monday and if you live in the Continental USA,you should take the time to see this rare event... most people remember these events for the rest of their lives!

  The Simpsons Solar Eclipse    

           I saw my first eclipse as a young boy and was amazed at how powerful that experience was for me.  The sky darkened, it got cold, the sun was beautifully blacked out and slowly the skies returned to normal.

Luckily, we had proper eye protection so there was no concern for our eyes.

However, with so many people able to participate this year and the temptation to save some money by just using sunglasses (NOT ENOUGH)  or with the recall of Eclipse glasses from Amazon

The chances are High that at least SOME people will be negatively affected and I suspect that on Monday night at least a few people will have done some avoidable damage to their eyes.... this post is to provide information about nutrition based solutions for recovery from damage.  I'm not a doctor, I just did a lot of research over the last year on eye health and wish I had had this information after experiencing my own eye problems.  This information is meant as a spark to kindle your own curiosity and research into these topics and decide for yourself if they would be helpful.

What I recommend:

-REST! keeping eyes covered with cool damp cloth, cucumber slices or just a blindfold/ eye patch

Take 10mg of Astaxanthin once a day for initial support and 4mg daily for maintainence (you can only absorb so much, but if you are needing to heal damage a bit extra might be helpful initially)

America's Pharmacist Suzy Cohen Discusses Astaxanthin

Zeaxanthin and Lutein  these are essential eye nutrients

Take 1 tbs of coconut oil 4x daily

Moringa powder/ capsules  one of the Highest sources of bioavailable plant based Vitamin A

Carrot/Beet/Green Juice    Carrot juice 1-3x a day can help increase beta carotene

Food Myths: Do Carrots Improve Your Eyesight? | WIRED

(Note:  these nutrients cannot IMPROVE your already crummy vision, but they are able to provide the essential nutrients that your eyes require.  Nutrition based healing is pretty taboo.  The thought that your diet might be the cause and solution of problems undermines the pharmaceutical industry and medical establishment that would rather you see them than your garden/nature for answers.)

David Wolfe's Rainbow Salad

Also good to have salads with oil based dressings to increase the availability of oil soluble vitamins :)

Goji Berries!  A handful a day is a good daily habit in the morning.  If you are healing, double to dose or just snack to your heart's content

Spirulina, Chorella, Hemp seed/oil for Deep Nutrition and the essential amino acids that form the building blocks for new tissue.... help your body find what it needs in an easy to digest form!

Blueberries and Bilberries Excellent for helping recover night vision, click the links to learn more

Topically you can use cucumber slices to cool the eyes and refresh the face, Olive oil, carrot root oil or coconut oil could also be another way to absorb nutrients through the skin.  In Ayurvedic massages, so much oil is applied that you can often feel the penetration deep into the tissues.  In the west we aren't used to using oils on our bodies in this way to such an extent... but if you ever get the chance to try an Ayurvedic massage, do!   Ok I may have gone off topic, but it all connects.... you can absorb through your mouth and your skin, so if you wouldn't eat it, you might not want it on your skin!

If you can't get protective eye gear in time:

How to make a solar eclipse viewer

Enjoy!  (Safely)  

For those that don't /didn't send them this.  OR JUST RESTEEM NOW! :)

BONUS

Man Who Lost Some Eyesight From Past Eclipse Has This Warning   (CAUTIONARY TALE)

TIME

TODAY

@ecoknowme

Any other tips you know of for helping the eyes?  Comment below!  If this did not waste your time, Upvote!

Sort:  

What a GREAT post!!!! I am still trying to find out where to buy the proper glasses to wear to watch the eclipse? I no better than to look directly at it without glasses and I sure hope my curiousity does not get the best of me and I look at it without the property glasses :( I am already blind in one eye and cant see out the other - LOL (not really). Have a GREAT Sunday Friend .. SUNSHINE247

If you have a friend who does welding, maybe you can ask to borrow his/her helmet? Otherwise there are instructions at the bottom of the post on how to make your own eclipse viewer with a box and a pinhole.
Be safe and have fun @sunshine247 wish I was able to see it this year :(

Thank you so much!!!! I will check it out and I think my husband may having welding glasses - great idea!! SUNSHINE247

Excellent advice and worth a resteem.
Have a great eclipse tomorrow!

Sadly I'm no where near this time. So if you are, let us know! Otherwise we just ask sunshine247 if she got the goggles in the end. Thank you for the Resteem!! Hope the information comes in handy... preferably to prevent it from being needed :/

thank you @mxzn much appreciated.

This post has received a Bellyrub and 5.95 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @ehzi-dehve. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

My eyes are very light-sensitive; and, I will probably wear shades in and outdoors all day to protect any chances of a harmful ray. I simply respect the Awesomeness of God and give thanks for such beauty. I can remember how eerie things felt the last time one passed over. I am excited vicariously for those who are having the parties and making the most of the experience.
Best regard to all!
Peace.
Safekeeping for all

Valuable info. My mom had her vision damaged as a child from not listening to her mother. Rstmd

Thank you! Listen to your mother and stay safe! Lotta crazies out there I bet. I mean, more than usual.... Like a free full moon and all it's lunacy, for an hour. I'm just wondering if all of america will either be on their phones, in traffic, or both.

I had merely a shadow pass over my area and i was at work. So, yeah. All safe. Going to be doing a very non scientific blog about this later

Ooo look forward to it!

We had one a couple of years ago and my friend told me he used sunglasses. I just cringed. We had a welding glass and a pair of the special glasses...the price is always bumped right up before an eclipse though! Great post, stay safe everyone!

Thanks for the comment! Hope it was magical and memorable!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62182.25
ETH 2437.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61