The PRICE of water: A true story of Andean homesteadingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Where does your water come from? My guess is, even if you are a homesteader, it is likely that a local utility company provides water for you, and they probably charge you for it too! Have you ever considered where they get the water from? Will you allow me to take you on a journey today to where we get the water for our farm?


1 Water arriving on our farm - not much.jpg

Short answer, it comes from a hose

We recently made some major adjustments to how we treat water on our farm. I will probably make more articles in the future about our work to 'modernize' our water system, but once it arrives on the farm we send it to the highest point, pass it through a sedimentation tank, then distribute it systematically throughout the farm. But the water doesn't come from our farm. In fact, it doesn't come from anywhere particularly close by either.

When we first moved onto the farm we had a lot of problems with the water. It would periodically, sometimes weekly, stop. Just stop showing up. No water! It took me awhile to internalize and accept the fact that we serve as our own utility, we need to protect the source and route of that which is most precious to us, water!

2 - Filling a pot with the small stream of water.jpg



Over the last 4 years we have systematically overcome the vast majority of repetitive causes that would interupt our water. As we conquered each one, I was slowly freed from spending so much time fixing our water supply. But we remain the people 'in charge' should anything go wrong.

It has been over a year since I have returned to the source of the water. I knew that eventually I would have to return, but for many reasons I have happily put it off and continued working on other advancements. When the water stopped reaching the tank at the highest point on the farm, I disconnected it where it arrives. A very thin stream of water dripped out, enough to fill a pot and continue to live, but not enough to fill our 'modern' water system and flow across the farm.

I set out to eat the ugly frog today.

3 - Setting out across the neighbors farm.jpg

Let's get this walk under way

I had been thinking all week really about @themarkymark's second round of the Getting 'things' done Contest. I had been in the office in town all week, where, although there is a lot to do, the ugly frogs are less photogenic. I decided that I would use Sunday to conquer a pending project, something that I had been putting off for a long time.

The farm makes its own work though, and when I saw that narrow thread of water that couldn't even make it up to the sedimentation tank, I knew that I had put off cleaning the tank for far too long.

4 - Crossing the coffee fields of the neighbors farm.jpg



In order to get to where our water comes from, I first set off across my neighbors farm. You can see the very organized coffee plants with a few nitrogen fixing trees and rows of plantains and bananas packed into our neighbors farm, ever bit of it producing something to eat or sell. Inconspicuously our water hose is buried along what is the left side of the path in these pictures.


5 - Rounding the Corner of Neighbors farm accompanied by black dog.jpg



Our two dogs accompanied me, eager to run free and explore outside of their territory. I do my best to keep them in my immediate radius with verbal commands, but they happily cover triple the total distance by running ahead, coming back, checking out side paths and behavior of that sort.

Here I leave the coffee fields into a side patch where the neighbor has poles with wire strung up to support vine crops like peas and pole beans.


6 - Polebeans and black dog neighbors farm.jpg



Our black dog Totoro may be posing for the camera.


7 - Blonde dog and cow neighbors farm edge of nature reserve grassy shade.jpg



Our blonde dog Cariño waits for me at an open gate.

Past this gate I enter a small pasture on the edge of a forest. Our neighbors have several cows still, less than before as they recently sold some to build a nice addition onto their home. These cows happily keep the lawn mowed underneath the shade of guava and other local trees.


8 - Crossing shaded pasture to enter the nature reserve.jpg



I always try to keep an eye on the cows, even though I am originally from Wisconsin, I was very surprised when I really realized how big cows are, and when you combine steep slopes and narrow paths like we have here in Colombia, cows can easily get in your way. Today this cow is very agreeably out of my way.


9 - Entering the andean humid forest nature reserve.jpg



I head for the path that will take me into the forest, and eventually into the nature reserve, a protected area that provides water for several farms in the direct vicinity, as well as filling a four inch pipe full of flowing of water for the water treatment plant that supplies the urban center of Líbano with its fresh water. At this point I have already walked approximatedly one kilometer.


10 - Following the path into the forest nature reserve.jpg



As you may notice, I continue to pass through a series of edge areas, each becoming more forested and less farmed. Here at the edge of the nature reserve, we start to enter more shady and canopied areas, and my samsung phone camera begins to have more trouble focusing in the lower light conditions.


11 - First check point water hose protected as it crosses nature reserve paths.jpg



If you study the picture above, you can see the first checkpoint of our water hose, at the protected fence and edge of the nature reserve. Because we need several kilometers of hose to bring the water to us, it can be difficult to determine where problems are arising without a series of checkpoints to narrow down where you have to look. This is the first checkpoint inside the reserve, really on the edge.

Here there is barbed wire protecting the reserve, principally from cows and horses who may want to enter and nibble, but whose giant hooves and heavy bodies would negatively impact both the forest and the fresh water ecosystem inside the reserve. Plus these animals poop, a lot, which is not particularly desireable where one draws fresh water.


12 - Selfie as first river crossing heres the proof nature reserve.jpg



Here's the proof!

This is the first river crossing, shortly after the enterance to the reserve, and I took a selfie just in case anybody thought I was making this all up. Yes I walk several miles to find the source of our fresh water. Does your water come from less far away?


13 - Path through nature reserve continues to rise through the forested andes mountain.jpg



Crossing the river, I continue the climb into the nature reserve. I say climb because, well, I am climbing a mountain. See, it may sound obvious when I say it, but water flows downhill. To get to the source of our water, we must walk several kilometers uphill. No wonder I've avoided doing this for awhile!


14 - Ray of sunlight shows our climb along a waterfall nature reserve.jpg



I now begin my climb along side a waterfall. The slippery rocks give birth to mosses and low plants which my boots use to propel me up the sides of a natural rocky staircase.


15 - Climb along waterfall continues rock jumping nature reserve.jpg



Near the top of the waterfall, I have to cross the stream and pull myself up onto some really big boulders. I do my best to take pictures and climb at seperate times. If I try to do both at the same time, I risk losing my camera phone in pools of fast flowing water.


16 - rock climbing waterfall nature reserve fixing water.jpg



Above the waterfall is a series of beautiful pools of water. I have been here several times over the years as a very interesting place to film. You can clearly see where we shot the title opener for Ecological Instant!


17 - Rocky waterfall navigating through the nature reserve.jpg



As I finished scaling the boulders, I came upon a living obstacle!


18 - nature water pools travelling through the nature reserve.jpg



A very large spider had decided to stretch its web across my path! Unfortunately my automaticly focusing camera phone was unable to understand what I wanted it to focus on, so I eventually used my walking stick to gently rollup the spiderweb out of the path and gently deposit it in a bush. Sorry spidey!


19 - spider blocks path but camera refuses to focus nature reserve.jpg



I move along the path ahead, continuing to go deeper into and higher up the nature reserve forest.


20 - Spider conquered path continues nature reserve.jpg



The path is fairly open. There is relatively little debris blocking the path at this point, these near paths are more frequently traversed than those further up. Even so I try to do what I can to clean dead leaves and branches, and living spiders, from the path.


21 - Long path continues through the nature reserve climbing up into the mountain.jpg



My clunky camera continues to do it best in the low light conditions of the nature reserve.


22 - Second river crossing hiking through the nature reserve.jpg



I cross a river yet again, and now consider myself well inside the nature reserve. I have travelled more than two kilometers at this point, and we are nearing the second checkpoint.


23 - Nature reserve paths start to thicken, blocked by fallen debris.jpg



It becomes immediately clearer that less and less people have made it this far up the path. More and more debris, consisting of dead wood, fallen trunks and branches, dead and dying leaves, and all sorts of living branches spreading around looking for the light all begin to clog the once open path.


24 - Check point 2 water system nature reserve.jpg



We've made it to the second checkpoint. I have been this far three or four times in the past year, but no further. It seems like just getting here is a lot of work!


25 - Open checkpoint test water level nature reserve hike.jpg



I open the second checkpoint and make an observation. There is little water arriving here, probably because the source has become blocked. I leave this checkpoint open in case my cleaning of the tank pushes any particles or impurities through, they will fall out here and not accumulate and block up the hose further on.


26 - Secondary forests and the next generation of trees nature reserve.jpg

The next generation of trees!

As I continue up the mountain, I am now using my machete very regularly. In the time, over a year, since last traversing this path, deadwood, leaves and live plants have made it very difficult to find the path. Luckily I know it well, and am never 'lost' for more than a few minutes at a time.

When I clear and clean dead debris, I try very carefully to watch out for the next generation of trees, and protect them. Secondary forests like the one I am in gradually give way to higher quality trees and hardwoods, if allowed.


27 - More dead debris blockages opening paths nature reserve.jpg



The key is to walk slowly, our goal may be far away, but if we lose the path we'll never make it. Luckily, in many parts at least, once leaves and deadwood are out of the way, the path becomes clear again.


28 - The path continues into the nature reserve up the mountain.jpg



Cariño the dog is very helpful, staying close to me and navigating the path to the water tank, he knows where we are going.


29 - Dog leads the way eucalyptus clearing nature reserve was once a farm.jpg



In fact, my friend Cariño has lived in this area for longer than we have. He came with the farm, the result of a weird business deal when we bought the farm. We negotiated for a horse, but the horse died suddenly and unexpectedly a few days before we moved in, and I moved hard to replace the horse with Cariño.

Oddly enough, the seller of the farm never actually showed us where the water came from, but instead assured us that both Cariño and a one-armed man knew where it came from and could show us. Would we have bought our farm if we knew how many miles away the water came from? I don't know, but I digress.


30 - show me where I am going mr blonde dog nature reserve water fixing.jpg



I come to a clearing under a canopy of eucalyptus trees. These eucalyptus trees are non-native, they are originally from australia and are commonly used to grow high quality wood. They are an indication that this area was not always a 'nature reserve' and used to be a farm, much of it pasture land not that many decades ago.


31 - After the clearning we are close forest deepens once again nature reserve.jpg



The plot thickens once again but we are nearly there, the eucalyptus grove is a motivating sight because it means the journey is almost over, just one more stretch through the undergrowth.


32 - obstacles blocking almost there nature reserve hike.jpg



Here again there are obstacles, I clear dead wood but try to leave as much living material as I can.


33 - water source found shallow stream deep in the nature reserve mountain.jpg



Finally!

I come upon a shallow stream that I recognize as the area from which we draw our fresh water for the farm. How many kilometers have I walked at this point? I unfortunately don't know, I have never made it this far with the GPS.


34 - water receptor tank completely blocked filled covered water nature reserve.jpg



This is our water tank, and as I expected, it is completely filled and blocked with all manner of sticks, leaves, soil and small stones and sand. You can just see the concrete corner in the upper right.


35 - Cleaning the tank of sticks and stone with my walking stick water nature reserve.jpg



This picture doesn't quite turn out, but you can see my boot as I try to use my walking stick to help liberate the water tank.


36 - almost cleared big items removed water tank nature reserve.jpg



Thats much better! All of the big items are out of the way, now all thats left is to get my hands dirty and scoop out all the sand and grit from the bottom of the tank.


37 - heres the proof cleaning the water tank nature reserve selfie.jpg



Here's more proof! A selfie standing on top of the (almost) conquered and nearly clean water tank.


38 - end results water tank clear water nature reserve clean.jpg



We've eaten the ugly frog! This tank will continue to supply fresh water to our farm for many months without any problems. I should probably come back every six months instead of every year, but today we are successful! Now its time to walk two plus miles back home!


39 - Back at checkpoint 2 we can see the results of our water tank cleaning.jpg



On the way back I stop in to checkpoint 2 and see this! An incredibly powerful stream of water gushing through the hose! Success!



________________________________________________________________




Feel free to scroll up slowly to relive my trip back to our farm, but if thats too far for you then take a break right down there in the comments!


Come and say hi to all the friendly and fascinating @ecotrain members working to make the world a better place in our slack chat!
JOIN

Sort:  

Hi, thanks for the post. Where is this? It really reminds me of little mountain farms of friends in Paraty, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Very similar!! I even saw some plants that I recognised from there. I have so many friends that get their water in this kind of way.

I have NO words. I love You.

Sorry to intervene here but I have 3 words would have been more correctly :-)

Lol true and i think lots of people would use these 3 words for @ecoinstant :D

Har har ;p

i love the metaphor here !! - ))

"GOT FLOW" ?? - ))
.. if 'not' .. you've got debris !! - ))

FUN project, a walk & a reassurance .. that all is "WELL", when the 'rope' on the bucket is 'sound' !!! - ))) ha ha ... YOU ae the B+U(C)KeT .. and the 'rope' OUR "ETERNAL" CONNECTION .. to the UN(i)VERSE !! - ))
.. the 'water' in the well ??? - )

.. P(U+R)E LOVE - ))))))))))))
= all conditions flow 'down stream' (in) T_i'mE !!! - )))

.. ThankS for the PosT ! - ))

lovelovelove )))
greb'Z )

I like the idea that you bought a farm that came with a dog who knew how to find the water supply.

One of life's beautiful ironic twists ;)

Our place has a dog that can find his way back from the water supply in the dark! You don't realize how important that is until you have to go check it in the dark and you come to a fork in the path. Everything looks different in the dark except for the dog's bouncing white tail somewhere up ahead of you!

I'm totally committed to sustaining the population of dogs who know the way I want to go!

BTW - excellent filter - I love it! and kudos to @ecoinstant for his persistance in surviving having to walk kilometers to get to the water intake!

I took a look at your blog. Very interesting; it took me a while to figure out you are in the US. From the pictures I was going to guess Poland.

Say hello to your husband for me. I work with a lot of submariners at BWXT. We make the reactors and steem (sic) generators for US submarines and aircraft carriers.

My man may have served on one of the ones with your reactor in it! He particularly loved the nuclear classes that he took at OTC. :-)

He isn't in the service anymore but because he's still in the 'can do' mindset, all the projects we need to putter with to live here was a big attraction. He still loves going on the submarine tours that happen for ex-service men when the new boats come in to Bremerton harbor.

Nice post quite some mission if your water stops mid shower. Would not relish that. Great work :)

Yes sir! For that reason we have several reserve tanks that can be used up between when the water actually stops arriving and when we get around to go and fix it, but it is work either way you look at it!

But great to know its clean chemical free water definitely makes it worth it :)

Thats worth 1000 walks ;p

Indeed, unfortunately I have to pay for my chemical water the joys of have a rental agent an not private all issues I bring up in my next (I think Vlog) :)

I'm so glad Cariño knows where he's going, you said there was a path but I couldn't even see it in some of the photos! What a journey! That's truly amazing to me. You did more than just walk a couple of miles, you climbed a mountain and got an upper body workout with the machete!

Ha, i recognise this, we are also tapping off a river somewhere :-)

Thank you for sharing. Now I will now at least one parameter I need to look out before buying a land%))

Image Source

Yes, water is so important!

But definitely consider it from all angles, just because a utility company provides service today, does not mean they are immune to ecological changes in the water supply!

I doubt I ever found a utility company who do care. The ones I came across were more caring about their profit, not ecological impact. But to be honest I think it all starts with humans - as soon as they realize that it is for us and for the future of our children which we can not buy then the change can start in the society. Unfortunately, not much people still understand that we all live on the same planet and it is an ecological impact is a common reality. I am happy to see that it is changing step by step and more and more people think about it. And it thanks to posts like yours or @eco-alex the more awareness is spread.

Image Source

Nice, thanks for taking us along on this lovely long hike / maintenance mission for your farm water. It really wasn't all that bad, I managed to scroll through it in a matter of minutes. (Just kidding, sorry, stupid joke!)
I would be interested in knowing a bit more about your water... Is the water from this tank the only source for your home consumption and irrigation? How far away does it actually come from? Do I understand correctly that it's from a utility company? Is there a way you could get around having to buy it from them? Do you capture any rainwater? Since your property has such lovely slopes it would be a given (though involving a good amount of work, in creating swales, ponds, dams, etc.) Of course, the way I see your forest flourish, it seems like you've got more than enough rain.
Now you've inspired me to write about where MY water in Mexico City comes from... What a story: People have been killed for trying to tell! (No exaggeration!)

I want to hear your story but be careful!

There is no utility company that serves us here, I was insinuating that maybe other homesteaders do have a utility. As a community we actively resist the idea that a company would come in and charge us for the water, even as we sometime grumble about fixing our pipes ;p The last thing we want is them dumping an unreasonable amount of chlorine in our fresh spring water, although we of course do boil it before drinking.

Due to the constant nature of flowing water, I don't think we can waste it, we just need to make sure to direct it appropriately to avoid erosion and maximize drainage as it finds its way back to the mountain streams.

We get a lot of rain here, over 2100mm per year. How much where you are at?
We try to use the rainwater to the best of our ability, I have started forming some terraces and we plant on contour, rain also fills the dogs bowls and a tank for watering the grow-house plants. Most future projects that we dream of usually have some sort of rainwater capture involved.

Love and Light!

Ok, I can appreciate that this is work. But admittedly, it's rather dreamy and exotic. Congratulations on the great lifestyle!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86