Some New Years Goals - Programming, Data Science and Team Building!

in #life7 years ago

Happy New Year again!

We are now into Day 3 of 2018, and @ecoinstante and I are still in a contemplative mood, considering carefully all of our goals for this promising new year!

We both definitely want to write more, and we will be continuing that goal from last year by using the Steem blockchain. To continue to take pictures and, maybe more importantly, to do interesting things that are picture worthy, as well as write about what we did and saw, will be high up on our list this year.

PhotoCombo1.jpg
Colorful snake wants to be written about

Another thing that I have been working on for a while is trying to learn 'computers'. This is a wide field, and the learning will probably never end, but I continue to take new steps and learn new things.

This year, I have signed up for DataCamp, where I can take classes about R and Python, and get some help connecting to SQL databases in order to model and process data. I just paid 90 dollars to have 1 year of access to this site, which is a 'New Year's Sale', and apparently a great promotion.

I don't usually spend that much money on education, preferring to audit courses on edx.org, coursera.org, or find other free sites, and I will continue to do that this year as well. But having this whole curriculum in one place, and now paid for, I hope will motivate me to brush up on and modernize my data science skills this year.

Contemplative.JPG
Garden Contemplation

As I skim through some of the introductory modules, meant to teach the basics of programming which I have learned many times, I come across a wonderful sentiment, one that most courses won't admit to. Laziness is a powerful motivator. 'Hacking', scripting, programming, even permaculture recognizes this!

Take a look at how data camp describes it:

lazy statistician.jpg
Lazily Ironical

I am the hardest working lazy person that I know. I work day and night, on half a dozen different jobs and projects, all because I dream of a world in which I could be lazy. I want more hammock time. I want to automate my processes. I want to outsource and create employment.

All of these require work, but they are because I am lazy, or maybe, wish to be lazy one day.

Office.JPG
Framing the shot

Last year we participated in a selfie competition hosted by @papa-pepper. We had an absolute blast, and in the final days we required a lot of help. We were able to use something as silly as the Daily Selfie Challenge to help bring together our multi-disciplinary team for a fun purpose.

One thing that surprised me is how big our team is getting. Now, to be clear, they aren't in any legal sense 'our' team. But they are some of the local people that we are working with, in different ways, to make the world a better place. And they came together to make it look like I have 10 heads. What a great group!

Team is Developing.JPG
They couldn't all quite get a smile in the same shot though

So we will continue this year, learning and doing, building a team and executing plans for a better future, a future which is bright!

Love and Light to All!

Sort:  

Have you ever seen Buddha jogging :)

source

FD.

being lazy helps you think outside the box..........so you try and figure out a way to get things done faster LOLLL

I had a job out of high school where if I ran the paper collator fast enough it would break and then maintenance had to fix it :D so they couldn't complain ...........but I would then get a nap loll

it's what I always said about myself loll

LOve You!

hehehehehehe

On the topic of laziness: This is something I excel at. I work damn hard to implement the laziest possible solution for a lot of things that I do. Of course people now try to tell me that I confuse laziness with efficiency and the DRY principal... I think they just don't do laziness right.

The most beautiful ironies ;p

We wish you the best of luck in your New Year endeavors!

And we haven't seen any curation submissions from you in a while. I know we cut the reward a bit, but we'd love to see more submissions from you again.

Thank you for stopping by! I do love curating, and I assure you that the reward is still sufficiently high for a bit of curation work! I got a bit busy, but you'll be seeing me around this year ;p

Blessings!

Even just having the chance to read a couple ecotrain posts makes me sad about how much I have been missing. I do hope to participate more this year. Good luck on your 2018 goals and learning!

Great to hear from you! Life sure gets busy (I think they've sped up the clocks since we were kids), but let's set some resolutions this year to keep in touch :)

Blessings to you and your family!

Happy New Year!! I want to thank you for your support and help. Thank you very much!

May you have a blessed year :)

Sounds like a rockin' plan for the new year! I haven't "studied" a course in so long I don't know if I could do it ... seems like things are always moving to fast, just gotta pick up what I can between the lines. Peace

I know the feeling! I try very hard to keep up my 'life-long learning'. But it is hard - life moves fast - seems like the clocks have sped up since I was a kid ;p

Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60915.02
ETH 2636.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64