You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Debatable Ideas #1 - Do you prefer an ivy league degree or an ivy league education - Signalling vs Human Capital value of Education

in #life7 years ago

I think mostly it is about signalling. The true value of ivy league is in your network.

I of course sent a different signal by attending the cheapest public university that I could. My signal was that I am practical and down-to-earth, and probably know the value of a dollar.

Even so, now I wish I had been on the front lines of online education and maybe gone to a community college.

Great discussion starter.

Sort:  

Hi @ecoinstant , thank you for your answer.

I like your signal! I'm from Europe where there is less an "ivy league" concept and (with maybe the exclusion of UK) Universities are relatively cheap and highly subsidised. So I did not have to make that type of choice.

I agree 100% with your addition, I will Edit the post to add the network effect you mention.

Online easily scalable education is the future, it will have the same effect as internet had on cable TV and TV on radio. Btw this line of thought is in line with Signalling as well: if the most important element was the content of the classes than online education would be already 99% of higher education....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56325.56
ETH 2374.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33